metallon metallonorg

Berlin
msg tools
mbmb
Few questions after first play. day/night

Hi MoM fans,
yesterday evening my wife and I started our first round and a few questions came up.
I hope someone could shed some light devil

1. Does it matter if it is day or night? Can we see in the app if it is day or night time?

2. what is the focused condition?

3. when do I need to roll the dice? for each test? I
noticed sometimes the app asked me to adjust +/- skill points
for a test. I usually look at the character card and type in that
number. I dont role dice. Is that right?

4. Does the app know where each character actually is?
I remember once we got a message "xxx removed 2 spaces from the office
away". But that character was nowhere near the office.
I wonder if that happend because we did not keep a strict
order of who goes first in the investigator phase.

5. If the insantity condition says I cant talk, it means I as a player
cant talk but what about the character talking to suspects
in the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wiedewiet
Netherlands
Tilburg
Noord-Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi metallon! I would advise you to give the rulebook a good read before your next play.

metallon wrote:
1. Does it matter if it is day or night? Can we see in the app if it is day or night time?

Only game effect I can think of is Darkness (Rulebook page 7), but there's nothing in the rules about day or night. Where does your question originate from? What situation arose that made you wonder about day/night?

metallon wrote:
2. what is the focused condition?

Read the Condition card titled 'Focused'.

metallon wrote:
3. when do I need to roll the dice? for each test? I
noticed sometimes the app asked me to adjust +/- skill points
for a test. I usually look at the character card and type in that
number. I dont role dice. Is that right?

Nope, it's wrong. A 'test' means to roll your dice and input the number of successes.

metallon wrote:
4. Does the app know where each character actually is?
I remember once we got a message "xxx removed 2 spaces from the office
away". But that character was nowhere near the office.
I wonder if that happend because we did not keep a strict
order of who goes first in the investigator phase.

The app doesn't know where characters are. "move 2 spaces away from the Office" means to move the character 2 spaces in a direction that is farther away from the Office than his/her starting space.

metallon wrote:
5. If the insantity condition says I cant talk, it means I as a player cant talk but what about the character talking to suspects
in the game?

That would be no problem. You only do what is written on the card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
metallon wrote:

3. when do I need to roll the dice? for each test? I
noticed sometimes the app asked me to adjust +/- skill points
for a test. I usually look at the character card and type in that
number. I dont role dice. Is that right?


You always roll dice for a test. If the test is lore+1 it means you roll one extra die (i.e. if your lore was 3 you would roll 4 dice instead).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
metallon metallonorg

Berlin
msg tools
mbmb
@Wiedewiet

Thanks, that helps a lot. I go through the rule book now again Seems the first time was too quick.

"Where does your question originate from?" ..well..my wife said if it is night we should maybe not get outside the hotel
So I thought ...ok...interesting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
metallon metallonorg

Berlin
msg tools
mbmb
@Reverend Uncle Bastard,

1.
I read "....has lost his way, suddenly desperate for a familiar landmark or clue
to his location. He suffers 2 facedown horror (obersvation negates) then he flips
2 horrors faceup".

I just took it as using my 3 dice and for every * (star) I negate one of the
effects. is that right?

2.
There is an investigator with the skill lore +5. If this person reads
lore +1 negates I face the problem of having only 5 dices.

3.
If I read "suffers 2 horrors" without the faceup or facedown information, how do I place them, faceup or facedown?

Finally, can I cure insanity?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Janne
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
metallon wrote:
2.
There is an investigator with the skill lore +5. If this person reads
lore +1 negates I face the problem of having only 5 dices.


Read rulebook some more (actually it's worth reading the full rules reference and sort of forget the learn to play after first play). It says you record the number of successes and clues and reroll enough dice as needed. So in that case you'd roll one die twice.

Quote:
3.
If I read "suffers 2 horrors" without the faceup or facedown information, how do I place them, faceup or facedown?


Horror/damage is suffered faceup unless otherwise mentioned. Also you resolve the horror/damage one at the time fully before taking another one to resolve.

Quote:
Finally, can I cure insanity?


Only by dying, but then there's possibly other problems.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
metallon wrote:
@Reverend Uncle Bastard,

1.
I read "....has lost his way, suddenly desperate for a familiar landmark or clue
to his location. He suffers 2 facedown horror (obersvation negates) then he flips
2 horrors faceup".

I just took it as using my 3 dice and for every * (star) I negate one of the
effects. is that right?

2.
There is an investigator with the skill lore +5. If this person reads
lore +1 negates I face the problem of having only 5 dices.

3.
If I read "suffers 2 horrors" without the faceup or facedown information, how do I place them, faceup or facedown?

Finally, can I cure insanity?


1. Absolutely correct!

2. roll all five dice, remember the results, then roll one of them again.

3. Always faceup unless it says facedown

4. Nope!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
metallon wrote:
@Reverend Uncle Bastard,

1.
I read "....has lost his way, suddenly desperate for a familiar landmark or clue
to his location. He suffers 2 facedown horror (obersvation negates) then he flips
2 horrors faceup".

I just took it as using my 3 dice and for every * (star) I negate one of the
effects. is that right?


You can negate taking the horror, but not flipping it. Of course, if you have nothing to flip you're fine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.