$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Cthulhu: A Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Played a few games, quite a few questions. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
MadLad Designs
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I've now played a few solo games and have a few(!) questions.


Aphoom Shah
His special ability states "All action cards effects are reduced by 2...". Is this just for Moxie or for other effects as well? For example the "Bless" action card states "gain 2 Moxie and kill one Zombie instantly." Does Aphoom's ability mean that I need to reduce the number of zombies killed by 2?

Reducing and gaining Moxie - Aphoom
The Journeyman character's ability states to gain 1 Moxie on Action cards. What happens if I play the "Bless" action card when both Aphoom and the Journeyman are playing? Is this reduced to zero ( 0 ) or can you not go below 1 Moxie?

What happens in this situation?:

Aphoom - Reduce Action cards by 2
Bless - 2 Moxie
Journeyman Char - Add 1 Moxie

Would the Bless card still end up with 2 Moxie?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adrenaline Action Card
When is this card player? Preparation Phase or Final Preparation Phase?
How would this work with Aphoom?

"Lose 1 Health"
"Discard 1 card"
"Draw 2 cards"
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mystic Binding
When playing "Mystic Binding" in the Final Preperation phase (is this correct?) The first time in the Combat Phase that you take health loss the Mystic Binding card takes the full lot and is then discarded? Does it take the hit from just one card or all the cards added together?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beh'moth the Devourer
His special ability states: "Each round he eats all active Minions... If there are no minions the Investigator with the highest Health takes damage equal to his health over 10." If he has devoured no minions does he do no damage?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1st Combat
Some cards say "In 1st Combat...". What exactly does this mean in A) Multiplayer game and B) Solo game?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crucifix
"Kills 1 Minion instantly". Does this include ANY minion? Including Beh'Moth the Devourer?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Loathing - Mythos Card
This card says the Health and Sanity values are swapped but what happens if one is higher than the other; say Health is at 30 (max) and sanity is at 20 (max)?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Insanity - Mythos Card
Does this card permanantly stay out? If so when does it activate?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Preparation - Library Card
The card says "Reduce all Health & Sanity loss by 1.". Is this 1 per Minion / Mythos card or just 1 after all Health & Sanity loss has been added together? I.E if there are four minions doing 2 Health damage each, is each card reduced by 1 or are all added together 9to make 8) and then 1 taken off (for 7)?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Incorpreal Daemon
The card states that if it is still alive during the Planning Phase then reduce the number of cards drawn by 1 card. Is this accumulative? If there is only 1 Daemon over a number of Planning Phases is the number of cards drawn reduced by 1 'each time'? 4 cards, 3 cards, 2 cards, etc?



Phew!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Ellis
msg tools
publisher
Will answer questions inline below...

Aphoom Shah
His special ability states "All action cards effects are reduced by 2...". Is this just for Moxie or for other effects as well? For example the "Bless" action card states "gain 2 Moxie and kill one Zombie instantly." Does Aphoom's ability mean that I need to reduce the number of zombies killed by 2?

It is not just for moxie it is everything that has a numerical effect. However there is a minimum on one rule. So for Bless you would always kill a minimum of one zombie.


Reducing and gaining Moxie - Aphoom
The Journeyman character's ability states to gain 1 Moxie on Action cards. What happens if I play the "Bless" action card when both Aphoom and the Journeyman are playing? Is this reduced to zero ( 0 ) or can you not go below 1 Moxie?

What happens in this situation?:

Aphoom - Reduce Action cards by 2
Bless - 2 Moxie
Journeyman Char - Add 1 Moxie

Would the Bless card still end up with 2 Moxie?

The minimum of 1 rule applies. No calculations can go to zero or less. However in this situation it calculates to 1 naturally. Bless gives 2 moxie + 1 from Journeyman - 2 from Aphoom = 1 Moxie


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adrenaline Action Card
When is this card player? Preparation Phase or Final Preparation Phase?
How would this work with Aphoom?

"Lose 1 Health"
"Discard 1 card"
"Draw 2 cards"

Adrenaline can be played in either prep or final prep. In the case of Aphoom is active, all of the effects are reduced by 2, but to a minimum of 1 so you would Lose 1 Health, Discard 1 card, and Draw 1 card.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mystic Binding
When playing "Mystic Binding" in the Final Preperation phase (is this correct?) The first time in the Combat Phase that you take health loss the Mystic Binding card takes the full lot and is then discarded? Does it take the hit from just one card or all the cards added together?

Yes, you read that right. As soon as you would have taken damage you lose your Mystically Bound Minion. It is the first damage taken, not all in the combat phase. So as soon as that first spider attacks you lose it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beh'moth the Devourer
His special ability states: "Each round he eats all active Minions... If there are no minions the Investigator with the highest Health takes damage equal to his health over 10." If he has devoured no minions does he do no damage?

Correct, if his health is 10 or less he does no damage to the Investigators.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1st Combat
Some cards say "In 1st Combat...". What exactly does this mean in A) Multiplayer game and B) Solo game?

In both multiplayer and solo games it means the same thing. The first time that card activates in combat their effect goes off, but it doesn't go off the following times.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Crucifix
"Kills 1 Minion instantly". Does this include ANY minion? Including Beh'Moth the Devourer?

Yes, having the Crucifix is a huge way to manage the Beh'Moth threat.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Loathing - Mythos Card
This card says the Health and Sanity values are swapped but what happens if one is higher than the other; say Health is at 30 (max) and sanity is at 20 (max)?

It doesn't matter what the max values where, they are now swapped. A lot of times we would indicate this by just flipping our Investigator card over.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Insanity - Mythos Card
Does this card permanantly stay out? If so when does it activate?

It isn't permanent but it does stay out as long as the effect is in play. It would activate at the start of the Mythos card's turn in combat.(new FAQ)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Preparation - Library Card
The card says "Reduce all Health & Sanity loss by 1.". Is this 1 per Minion / Mythos card or just 1 after all Health & Sanity loss has been added together? I.E if there are four minions doing 2 Health damage each, is each card reduced by 1 or are all added together 9to make 8) and then 1 taken off (for 7)?

The damage is reduced by 1 from each source.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Incorpreal Daemon
The card states that if it is still alive during the Planning Phase then reduce the number of cards drawn by 1 card. Is this accumulative? If there is only 1 Daemon over a number of Planning Phases is the number of cards drawn reduced by 1 'each time'? 4 cards, 3 cards, 2 cards, etc?

Yes, it is cumulative. Nasty buggers. However, minimum of 1 rule is there again. We covered this guy in our FAQ found here. http://wyvrengaming.com/CthulhuDeckBuilding/#faq

Phew!! [/q]

Good questions thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MadLad Designs
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thst's awesome! Thanks. I'm putting together an unofficial help guide, would it be ok to include your FAQ and put it up here on BGG?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Ellis
msg tools
publisher
That would be great!

Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Nickydude wrote:
Incorpreal Daemon
The card states that if it is still alive during the Planning Phase then reduce the number of cards drawn by 1 card. Is this accumulative? If there is only 1 Daemon over a number of Planning Phases is the number of cards drawn reduced by 1 'each time'? 4 cards, 3 cards, 2 cards, etc?

WyvrenGaming wrote:
Yes, it is cumulative. Nasty buggers. However, minimum of 1 rule is there again. We covered this guy in our FAQ found here. http://wyvrengaming.com/CthulhuDeckBuilding/#faq

Nickydude asked if this effect was "accumulative", and the response is "Yes, it is cumulative". Accumulative and cumulative are different, so which is it?

The difference:

Cumulative:
1st turn 1 Incorpreal Daemon in play
Investigators draw 1 less card due to 1 Incorpreal Daemon in play
2nd turn 2nd Incorpreal Daemon enters play (2 total in play)
Investigators draw 2 less cards due to 2 Incorpreal Daemons in play

Accumulative:
1st turn 1 Incorpreal Daemon in play
Investigators draw 1 less card due to 1 Incorpreal Daemon in play for 1 turn
2nd turn 2nd Incorpreal Daemon enters play (2 total in play)
Investigators draw 3 less cards due to 1 Incorpreal Daemon in play for 2 turns (-2 cards) and 1 Incorpreal Daemon in play for 1 turn (-1 card)

If it is accumulative, that would raise additional questions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Ellis
msg tools
publisher
Incorporeal Deamon's effect is cumulative.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MadLad Designs
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
So let me get this straight.

During the Planning Phase just 1 Daemon is out so I would draw 4 cards.
During the next Planning Phase just that 1 Daemon is still out so would i now draw only 3 cards or still just 4?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Ellis
msg tools
publisher
For every Daemon active during planning you reduce the number cards you draw, but you always draw at least one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Tucker
United States
Warren
Michigan
flag msg tools
A game is a series of decisions; a good game is a series of interesting decisions
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Nickydude wrote:
So let me get this straight.

During the Planning Phase just 1 Daemon is out so I would draw 4 cards.
During the next Planning Phase just that 1 Daemon is still out so would i now draw only 3 cards or still just 4?

WyvrenGaming wrote:
For every Daemon active during planning you reduce the number cards you draw, but you always draw at least one.

Still just 4.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MadLad Designs
United Kingdom
UK
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.