Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Inis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Highlands + Festival: Initiator Clan Loss Timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nathan Gustafson
Australia
Alaska
flag msg tools
The Highlands card lets you change the Instigator of a clash, but the festival refers to the Initiator of a clash.

If the Instigator is changed by the Highlands card, do they instead have to lose a clan? Or are they considered the Instigator, but not the Initiator, in which case the original Initiator would still lose a clan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello,

The player who initiates the clash loses a clan, Highlands does't change this.

Hope that helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Gustafson
Australia
Alaska
flag msg tools
I figured this was the case due to the unique wording between Initiator and Instigator.

Highlands is played as a clash is starting, but only affects things once the clash has properly started.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrien Benoist
China
Shanghai
Shanghai
flag msg tools
mb
generic125 wrote:
I figured this was the case due to the unique wording between Initiator and Instigator.

Highlands is played as a clash is starting, but only affects things once the clash has properly started.


We had exactly the same case 2 days ago, and we played it right. (We had to dig through the discard pile to get back festival and see what word was used).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John K
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
So is there a difference between the words "Initiator" & "Instigator"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They generally designate the same player.

But there are rare occurrences where they could be different player.
For instance if you play the Morrigan, you trigger a conflict (so you initiate it) and you choose who is the instigator, so you can choose another player.

Actually, the term "initiator" is not really a reserved term in the rules like Instigator is, it is simply the player triggering the conflict.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John K
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Kris wrote:
They generally designate the same player.

But there are rare occurrences where they could be different player.
For instance if you play the Morrigan, you trigger a conflict (so you initiate it) and you choose who is the instigator, so you can choose another player.

Actually, the term "initiator" is not really a reserved term in the rules like Instigator is, it is simply the player triggering the conflict.


Thank you!! This will help when we run into this!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.