$30.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Chapter 1: Night of the Zealot - The Gathering rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I managed to get in my first two games tonight via Tabletop Simulator while I eagerly await my copies of the game. I ran both games against the first Chapter since I wanted to see if I could have done anything differently the second round. Without further ado, here's how my game went.

Game 1


Turn 1:
Investigate study, success
Investigate study, success

Progress the act, spend 2 investigate
Setup cellar, attic, hallway, parlor

Move to attic, gain 1 horror for entry


Turn2
1/3 doom to agenda

Encounter: Drew an icy ghoul in the cellar

Investigate attic, failure
Investigate attic, success
Investigate attic, success

Draw Investigator Card : Drew Stubborn Detective (weakness), engages me

Turn 3
2/3 doom to agenda

Mythos: Flesh Eater spawns on me in attic, engaged

Attack detective, failed (drew -4 :/)
Attack detective, success, used Viscious Blow +1 damage, detective dead. Receive 1 clue for killing an enemy.
Evade Flesh Eater, success!

Unexhausted flesh eater, reengages Roland

Draw card: weakness, Cover Up. Has 3 clues for me to remove whenever I earn a clue.

Spend 3 clues to end act 2, The Barrier.
Reveals parlor, with Lita. Ghoul Priest enters the hallway.

Turn 4
3 Doom: flip agenda. Choose to discard 1 card instead of taking 2 horror.
New agenda requires 7 doom tokens to flip.
Mythos: Rats swarm to my location, engaged

Disengage flesh eater, success! It is exhausted.
Fight rats, success. Gain clue (which negates 1/3 on Cover Up).
Draw Card.

Enemy ghoul priest attacks me for 2 horror/health. I'm at 4/5 horror.

Turn 5
1/7 doom to agenda
Mythos: Draw a rat swarm...i've got rats, priest, and flesh eater engaged on me.

I can't survive a tussle with hardly any cards in hand. I'm going to have to run for the hallway, then parlor, then activate the RESIGN to run screaming into the night.

Resolve whatever the RESIGN effect is. I also didn't complete Cover UP, forced to take 1 mental trauma card. This will make for a bad start up on Chapter 2 I think.

Let's see if we can do that any better. Misfortune hit me hard with getting both weaknesses so early and rushing through my acts when I wasn't ready.


GAME 2

Turn 1
Play guard dog
draw card
draw card

Turn 2

1/3 doom to agenda

icy ghoul drawn, and discarded (no cellar)

Investigate study, failure
Investigate study, success
Investigate study, failure

Turn 3
2/3 doom to agenda

Frozen in Fear treachery card drawn

Play Emergency Cache, gain 3 resources
Investigate study, success

Advance to Act 2, cellar/parlor/attic/hallway brought in, study removed

Move to attic, reveal causes me to lose 1 horror
-minor goof, I forgot that I had Frozen in Fear and needed 2 actions to move.

Attempted to get rid of Frozen in fear, success (used 2 cards to increase will)


Turn 4
3/3 doom to agenda, flips Agenda 1. Discards card to avoid 2 horror loss.
Drew ravenous ghoul, engaged Roland


Played Working a Hunch, gain a clue
Played Roland's .38 special
Used Roland's .38 special to attack ghoul, 2/3 damage to ghoul

Ghoul does 1 health to guard dog and 1 horror to Roland. 9/9 health, 3/5 horror.
Guard Dog attacks ghoul and kills it.

Turn 5
1/7 doom to agenda

Treachery drawn, Dissonant Voices. Can't play events or assets this round

Investigate Attic, success. 2 clues now
Draw Card
Move to Hallway

Turn 6
2/7 doom to agenda

Drew Rotting Remains, Succeeded and took no horror.

Move to Cellar, reveal: Take 1 damage. 8/9 health, 3/5 horror
Play Flashlight
Use Flashlight (2/3 resources left), investigate Cellar, success.

Have 3 clues now, but holding off on paying for ending the Act

Turn 7
3/7 doom to agenda

Drew Swarm of Rats, engaged Roland

Attack rats, success. Rats are dead and Roland gains an extra clue (4 now)
Move to Hallway
Draw card

Spend 3 clues to end act 2, The Barrier.
Reveals parlor, with Lita. Ghoul Priest enters the hallway, engages Roland

Ghoul Priest attacks Roland, Guard Dog blocks 2 health, 1 horror while Roland takes the remaining horror, 8/9 health, 2/5 horror.

Dog dies, but deals 1 damage to Ghoul Priest 4/5 health remaining.

Turn 8
4/7 doom to agenda

Draw Rotting Remains, use Guts for +2 will. Success, draw a card for Guts.

Use Roland's .38 special, discard 2 cards for +2 more fight against ghoul priest. Vicious attack and Roland's .38 special add an addition +2 damage. Ghoul Priest takes 3 and has 1/5 health remaining.

Use Roland's .38 special, discard 1 card for +1 more fight against Ghoul Priest. SUCCESS! Ghoul Priest goes down hard with a .38 slug in it's chest.

This flips Act 3: Resolve to burn down the house (R1)

Victory!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice write up. I really like your style of notation.

In your first game, how did you get 3 clues without moving to both locations?

It looks like you got the two in the attic, then Roland killed an enemy but his ability says: "After you defeat an enemy: Discover 1 clue at your location."

The Rules Reference says "A clue at a location can be discovered by successfully investigating the location (see “Investigate Action” on page 13), or by a card ability. If an investigator discovers a clue, he or she takes the clue from the location and places it on his or her investigator card, under his or her control."

If there aren't any clues at your location, there are none to discover.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Martin
msg tools
mb
Also, for Game 1, you should have been in the hallway (and at the end of the round) to advance from Act 2b to Act 3a.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SirRoke wrote:
Nice write up. I really like your style of notation.

In your first game, how did you get 3 clues without moving to both locations?

It looks like you got the two in the attic, then Roland killed an enemy but his ability says: "After you defeat an enemy: Discover 1 clue at your location."

The Rules Reference says "A clue at a location can be discovered by successfully investigating the location (see “Investigate Action” on page 13), or by a card ability. If an investigator discovers a clue, he or she takes the clue from the location and places it on his or her investigator card, under his or her control."

If there aren't any clues at your location, there are none to discover.


Good catch, I think that's what happened with that 3rd clue. I made a mistake with acquiring a clue that didn't exist there. I think I caught on to that in the 2nd game because I noticed I had to move between the attic AND the cellar to get enough clues. Even when I used a card to give me a free clue, I took it from the attic (the second clue) and then moved out of the attic. Game 1 was a total learning experience

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
emart40x wrote:
Also, for Game 1, you should have been in the hallway (and at the end of the round) to advance from Act 2b to Act 3a.


This makes thematic sense, as well as listening to the full instructions of the objective. Good to point out.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
There's so much story going on it's easy to get caught up in the moment and miss some of the specific details. One thing about such unique scenarios is that it's often easy to miss things, like having to be in the hallway. Usually you can do it from anywhere. And next scenario, no hallway!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Dursch
United States
Farmersville
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, very good point. Must read ALL the words
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Drew
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
On Turn 4 you had Ravenous Ghoul engaged with you so it should of got two attacks of opportunity when you:

Played Working a Hunch, gain a clue
Played Roland's .38 special

For those are not attack, evade, parley, or retire actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Allan Clements
Norway
Oslo
flag msg tools
Turns out Esseb did touch the flag. Don't tell him I said so though.
mbmbmbmbmb
Leftnut wrote:
On Turn 4 you had Ravenous Ghoul engaged with you so it should of got two attacks of opportunity when you:

Played Working a Hunch, gain a clue
Played Roland's .38 special

For those are not attack, evade, parley, or retire actions.


Working a hunch is fast, so does not trigger an attack of opportunity.
Playing the weapon would though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.