$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Pandemic: The Cure – Experimental Meds» Forums » Rules

Subject: Troubleshooter's "Fly and Treat" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Flop Adrop
United States
California
flag msg tools
mb
Two of the Troubleshooter's action dice sides let her "Fly and Treat, in either order".

Would it be legal to use this result to simply Treat where one is, without moving?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aahs jpw
msg tools
mb
I think you might be able to choose not to use half of the combo. Similarly to how the Medic's triple treat action can be spent to treat up to three times, but if not fully used consecutively the extra actions are not stored. Described here.

I might be wrong about the losses for non-sequential use on this one, because the P:TC-EM rules p.7 seem to relax the rules about fully executing the actions of a single die at a time (base game rules p.4) in the specific case of the fly+treat action, allowing you to use two fly+treat dice to fly into a Transportation Lockdown hot zone region (costing two plane actions) and treat twice at the origin or destination, essentially using half of two dice and then the other half of both dice, which wouldn't quite be "completing all the effects of a die before moving on to the next die".

I don't think you can use the plane to fly to the same region you started. The base game rules p.4 say the plane flies you to any "other" region.

This might matter to you when activating the mobile hospital event effect, because "newly entering" the region you started is covered here, and makes the effect trigger, but requires moving away and back (two moves).

aahsjpw
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
flopadrop wrote:
Two of the Troubleshooter's action dice sides let her "Fly and Treat, in either order".

Would it be legal to use this result to simply Treat where one is, without moving?

No.

The Troubleshooter has a syringe face. If you really want to Treat and not fly, then re-roll for it.

(You also can't fly to the region you are in and, normally, you must use all of a die's face before using your next die. We put in an exception specifically for the Troubleshooter and Transportation Lockdown, but that's a special case, not a rule change.)
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geppo Muzzak
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Ahhh this is a very important clarification here but I'm not sure I like it...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.