$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Next War: Taiwan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule 24.4.1 Interceptor combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giovanni Toletti
Italy
Pioltello
Milan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 24.4.1 3rd paragraph says "if after either Long-range or Stand-off combat an intercepting unit is no longer engaged the intercepting player may re-engage such unit against any other air unit in the Strike mission.
It seems that the same does not apply for escorts. What happens if an escort is not engaged anymore for example after Long-range combat? May it gang up on the interceptor or not?

In the specific case I'm playing solitaire the Tactical surprise scenario. The Allied player has a strike mission with one F-15E and one F/A-18F escorted by one F-35C that has been intercepted by two PRC J-11.
One J-11 engaged the F-35C and the other atttacked the F-15C. Long-range combat is allowed only for the F-35C that achieved a DA result against its J-11. Is the combat finished for the escort or may it attack the other J-11 during Stand-off combat helping the F-15C that my not fire during Stand-off?

Thanks

Giovanni
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Stueber
United States
Vernon Hills
Illinois
flag msg tools
BRAINS????
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is the escort can still engage the interceptor. Plus, in this specific example the interceptor, which must engage escorts first, cannot fire back at the F-35 until the Dogfight round because it is a stealth aircraft.

Now if the J-11 had made it through the Long Range air to air combat without being aborted then one of the interceptors could engage one of the strike aircraft while the F-35 engaged the other interceptor.

I believe the most important part of 24.4.1 is bullet point 1. "He must engage Escorting air units first". You then play out a normal air to air combat. Thus the F-35 would get to fire at one of the interceptors in Long Range combat without fear of return fire due to stealth. If the interceptor makes it through the fire then the "If he has more Interceptors than the Strike has Escorts he may choose to engage the Striking aircraft" comes into play for the Stand Off combat round. However, if the F-35 aborts or destroys one of the Interceptors than the second interceptor must still engage the Escort before it can attack the Strike aircraft.

At least I'm pretty sure that is correct and is the way I have always played it.

Dan
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giovanni Toletti
Italy
Pioltello
Milan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks a lot for the immediate answer!

Giovanni
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitchell Land
United States
Ballwin
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In the specific example, during the Long Range combat, only the F-35 and it's matchup mattered. Then, during the Stand-off round, the remaining J-11 would be required to engage the still present escorting F-35. In essence, the interceptors need to fight their through the escorts.

This is a classic example of how a single escort, with Long Range capability, can effectively escort a mission against two Interceptors.
3 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.