Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing Question: [Mars University] & [Invention Contest] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Terry Ross
Canada
Madoc
Ontario
flag msg tools
Bring Back Hambone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I came across this timing question in a solo game:

I have this In play already from a previous turn
[Mars University]
~Effect: When you play a science tag including this, you may discard a card from your had to draw a card.


Question/Thoughts:
I play
[Invention Contest] (Science)(Event)
Look @ top 3 cards from deck, take 1 discard 2. (paraphrased wording)

Since I had played a Science tag I can trigger [Mars University]
1) Can I trigger [Mars University] effect AFTER resolving [Invention Contest], thus getting the option to discard the one I kept and drawing another (4th) card? (useful if you get 3 bad cards and want to gamble on a better card)

-or-

2) Triggering [Mars University] should only discard cards in my hand BEFORE the resolution of [Invention Contest]'s effect

I chose #1 (still lost the game) but felt a question of timing was useful to make sure I'm playing properly.




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Stückl
Germany
flag msg tools
mb
Rules, page 9, 2) wrote:
First you must pay the card’s cost.Then the lower panel of the card shows you any
immediate effects. These effects (and other effects triggered
by the card you just played) are performed in any order you
choose.


This should answer your question.

Cheers,
Sebastian
10 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Terry Ross
Canada
Madoc
Ontario
flag msg tools
Bring Back Hambone
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfect, thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.