$5.00
$20.00
$15.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Explore action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Barbapapa Barbapou
msg tools
Hello,

For the "explore" action, when you decide to place the tile:

The hex tile must be oriented so that at least one of the Wormholes on the hex connects with a Wormhole of the hexes where you have a disc or a ship.
But this ship, must it too not be pinned?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Welshy welshy
New Zealand
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Correct if there's only a ship and no disc there. As written at the Top of page 9 in the English book.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barbapapa Barbapou
msg tools
welshy wrote:
Correct if there's only a ship and no disc there. As written at the Top of page 9 in the English book.

Hello,

Thanks for the answer :-)

In the English book, it says:

(When you choose a space)

Choose one of the unexplored spaces next to a hex where you have a Ship or an In uence Disc and turn a hex tile from the corresponding stack (I, II or III) in it. If you Explore from a hex with only a Ship, it must not be "pinned" (see Move on page 14).

(But when you place the hex tile)

• the hex can be placed only to the spot that you explored

• the hex must be oriented so that at least one of the Wormholes on the hex connects with a Wormhole on one of the hexes where you have a disc or a Ship (not be pinned too?)





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon K.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmb
Barbapapa2014 wrote:
(not be pinned too?)


Yes. If there is only a Ship and that Ship is pinned, you are not able to perform the Explore-Action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris K.
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Barbapapa2014 wrote:
welshy wrote:
Correct if there's only a ship and no disc there. As written at the Top of page 9 in the English book.

Hello,

Thanks for the answer :-)

In the English book, it says:

(When you choose a space)

Choose one of the unexplored spaces next to a hex where you have a Ship or an In uence Disc and turn a hex tile from the corresponding stack (I, II or III) in it. If you Explore from a hex with only a Ship, it must not be "pinned" (see Move on page 14).

(But when you place the hex tile)

• the hex can be placed only to the spot that you explored

• the hex must be oriented so that at least one of the Wormholes on the hex connects with a Wormhole on one of the hexes where you have a disc or a Ship (not be pinned too?)







Technically you are correct and to be perfectly clear it would have made sense to also repeat the "unpinned" condition.

However it says "one of the hexese where" rather than "any hex where" or just "a hex where" or something similar, so it effectively references the hexes mentioned above which included the "unpinned" condition.

So yes, that ship must be "unpinned".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim van Gruisen
Netherlands
Den Bosch
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
I see what you mean. If you place a hex at a location bordering both a hex with a control disk and one with a pinned ship, the rules as written would allow you to place the hex so that there is no wormhole connection to the first disk, as long as there is one to the second.

But the intention of the rule is different. You should be able to move from the hex from which you explore to the new hex. As you cannot move with a pinned ship, opening a wormhole there doesn't count.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barbapapa Barbapou
msg tools
It is clear. Thank you guys for responding so clearly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.