Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Jamaica» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can't remember rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Hannam
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After you lose a battle do you move backward one space?

Also do you have to go through all your cards before you can cycle the discard pile back into your draw pile?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea R
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmb
New8geNerd wrote:
After you lose a battle do you move backward one space?

Also do you have to go through all your cards before you can cycle the discard pile back into your draw pile?

Thank you!


Nope, you remain where you are.

Yes, you first finish the whole deck and if you have to draw and no cards are remaining, you shuffle the discard pile
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Kapish
United States
Brunswick
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Total unplayed games in my collection: 7
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
New8geNerd wrote:
After you lose a battle do you move backward one space?

After combat, reguardless of winning or losing, you must pay the cost of the space you've landed on. If you can't afford to pay, you lose as much as you can afford to pay and then move backwards until you land on a space which you can fully afford.

New8geNerd wrote:
Also do you have to go through all your cards before you can cycle the discard pile back into your draw pile?

You only shuffle your discards into your deck if you have to draw a card and your deck is empty.

New8geNerd wrote:
Thank you!

Please consider changing the title of your post so that other users can find this information helpful
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Brown
United States
Tallahassee
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
New8geNerd wrote:
After you lose a battle do you move backward one space?



The rules regarding forward and backward movement leading to and resulting battles can be confusing. On your initial movement, whether forward or backward, if you land on an occupied space, you must battle first, and then pay the cost of the space, whether you win or lose. If you win, the food or money you steal from your opponent may help you pay the cost of the space. After the battle, if you cannot pay, you move backwards to the first space that you can afford. If that space is occupied, you must battle again, and if you lose, you may lose the ability to pay for the space and be forced to move backward again.

The thing that some find confusing is that it does not matter if you can afford the space that you initially land on, if that space is occupied you must do battle before the penalty forces you backwards. When forced to move backward because you cannot afford a space, you only stop on a spaceyou can afford. Unfortunately, if that space is occupied, your ability to afford stopping there may be short-lived.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flavio Santos
Brazil
Brasilia
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PepsiFizz wrote:
New8geNerd wrote:
After you lose a battle do you move backward one space?



The rules regarding forward and backward movement leading to and resulting battles can be confusing. On your initial movement, whether forward or backward, if you land on an occupied space, you must battle first, and then pay the cost of the space, whether you win or lose. If you win, the food or money you steal from your opponent may help you pay the cost of the space. After the battle, if you cannot pay, you move backwards to the first space that you can afford. If that space is occupied, you must battle again, and if you lose, you may lose the ability to pay for the space and be forced to move backward again.

The thing that some find confusing is that it does not matter if you can afford the space that you initially land on, if that space is occupied you must do battle before the penalty forces you backwards. When forced to move backward because you cannot afford a space, you only stop on a spaceyou can afford. Unfortunately, if that space is occupied, your ability to afford stopping there may be short-lived.


Man... this is a great game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.