$20.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Colonists» Forums » Rules

Subject: Lord colony - combo with axe? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Dewsbery
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When choosing to ignore a Place's action and instead take wood (because you have a level I Lord colony), do you get the +1 wood that the axe would normally bestow when collecting wood?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
Editor at Lookout Games
mbmbmbmbmb
No, because you didn't get the wood from the place. You ignored the place. ;-)

Revised statement: Yes, the Axe, Spade and Iron Pickaxe combo with the Lord Colony's effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Friedberger
Germany
Golmbach
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ponton wrote:
No, because you didn't get the wood from the place. You ignored the place. ;-)


I assume that it is the same with the spade (Card 124)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
Editor at Lookout Games
mbmbmbmbmb
Exactly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dewsbery
United Kingdom
Sutton Coldfield
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It was in fact he spade that I was using to cheat with in just this way in my last game. Whoops.

Do the axe and spade work when you take the resource from the Market? I wasn't too clear from the rules whether markets were Places.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
Editor at Lookout Games
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, markets are places (they are very special places) so the axe and spade do work there.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Florian Trabert
Germany
Düsseldorf (34 km south of Essen)
NRW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ups, we played this wrong in our first game with the colonies. The answer is not obvious, so this question should be answered in a FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
Editor at Lookout Games
mbmbmbmbmb
flott wrote:
Ups, we played this wrong in our first game with the colonies. The answer is not obvious, so this question should be answered in a FAQ.


After consulting with Tim on this matter, I have to revise my statement. We agreed upon allowing this interaction: the Spade, Axe and Iron Pickaxe do work when you use the Lord Colony's ability to ignore an action and take a good instead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.