Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

1846: The Race for the Midwest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can minor RRs buy in privates? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy Okolica
United States
Washington Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand minor RRs aren't corporations, but their operAtion is in the same rules section and it doesn't explicitly say they can't...

An example that came up this weekend was the MS buying in the MC.

@Tom, what was your intent?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Corporations can buy privates.

2. The minor RRs aren't corporations.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Correct.

See the Note under 6.2, Operating Steps, which details precisely which OR steps may be performed by Independent RRs:

rules wrote:
The two Independent Railroads, the Michigan Southern and the Big 4, act as corporations but only do parts of steps B, C, and D when they operate (as they have no extra tokens to place, must split their earnings, have no stock, and *cannot buy trains or Private Companies*). (emphasis added)
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Okolica
United States
Washington Township
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
blush well I feel stupid. I swear I was looking at that exact section and missed that note. Thanks so much!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.