Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Dominion: Seaside» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pirate Ship interacting with Spoils rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy Cope
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
When a player chooses to use the first option listed on the Pirate Ship card, and her opponent turns over a non-Treasure card and a Spoils, what happens? Does the opponent lose the Spoils, returning it to the Spoils pile or does the opponent keep the Spoils and simply discard it, since it cannot be trashed. If the opponent loses the card, does the person who played the card receive a token on his mat? The card reads, "if anyone trashed a Treasure you take a Coin token." Since nothing was trashed does that prohibit him from getting a token? We couldn't find an answer, so we decided that the opponent loses the card - tries to trash it, but has to return it to the Spoils pile, but then because no card was trashed, the person who played the Pirate Ship does not get a token. Any thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoils can be trashed.

It only returns to the spoils pile after it is played, and trashing it does not count as playing it, so its effect does not trigger.

In the context of Pirate Ship, it acts like any other treasure card.
11 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Zendo fan, Columbus Blue Jackets fan, Dominion Fan.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
brothercopey wrote:
When a player chooses to use the first option listed on the Pirate Ship card, and her opponent turns over a non-Treasure card and a Spoils, what happens? Does the opponent lose the Spoils, returning it to the Spoils pile or does the opponent keep the Spoils and simply discard it, since it cannot be trashed. If the opponent loses the card, does the person who played the card receive a token on his mat? The card reads, "if anyone trashed a Treasure you take a Coin token." Since nothing was trashed does that prohibit him from getting a token? We couldn't find an answer, so we decided that the opponent loses the card - tries to trash it, but has to return it to the Spoils pile, but then because no card was trashed, the person who played the Pirate Ship does not get a token. Any thoughts?

The "Additional rules for Dark Ages" section of the Dark Ages rulebook says (emphasis added):
Quote:
Six cards in Dark Ages are never part of the Supply: Spoils, Madman, Mercenary, and the three Shelters: Hovel, Necropolis, and Overgrown Estate. Keep these cards handy for when they are needed. These cards cannot be bought, and cannot be gained by cards that gain cards from the Supply, such as Armory. They cannot be returned to the Supply with Ambassador (from Seaside). They can end up in the trash if something trashes them. These piles being empty does not count towards the end condition for the game, or towards the count of empty piles for City (from Prosperity).

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
brothercopey wrote:
When a player chooses to use the first option listed on the Pirate Ship card, and her opponent turns over a non-Treasure card and a Spoils, what happens? Does the opponent lose the Spoils, returning it to the Spoils pile or does the opponent keep the Spoils and simply discard it, since it cannot be trashed.


Why do you think Spoils can't be trashed? Not only can it be trashed by the Thief, but it can also be trashed with Chapel, Remodel, Upgrade, Forge, or any other trasher.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Cope
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Thank you all for your replies. Very helpful. I don't know where I got the idea that Spoils couldn't be trashed - I just thought of it as a fact - I guess because it returns to its pile after use. The clarifications are very helpful, and I appreciate your time.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Confusing Manifestation
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may have gotten confused because of one particular interaction, which is Counterfeit. In Counterfeit's case (play a Treasure from your hand twice, then trash it), the first time it plays Spoils the return-to-the-Spoils-pile effect kicks in, then by the time it's meant to trash the Spoils, it can't find it in play, so it can't trash it (the "lose track" rule).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmy Cope
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
In the scenario with Counterfeit described above, is the Spoils played twice or only once, since it returns to the pile after being played? In other words, is Counterfeiting a Spoils worth 6 or 3?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
brothercopey wrote:
In the scenario with Counterfeit described above, is the Spoils played twice or only once, since it returns to the pile after being played? In other words, is Counterfeiting a Spoils worth 6 or 3?


Only once, since it returns to its pile after it's played the first time. Counterfeiting a Spoils is only worth 3. Turns out I was incorrect here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt E
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mogust wrote:
brothercopey wrote:
In the scenario with Counterfeit described above, is the Spoils played twice or only once, since it returns to the pile after being played? In other words, is Counterfeiting a Spoils worth 6 or 3?


Only once, since it returns to its pile after it's played the first time. Counterfeiting a Spoils is only worth 3.

False. Spoils is played twice despite leaving play. Counterfeit on Spoils is worth $7 ($6 from the Spoils twice, plus $1 from the Counterfeit itself).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When pirates abound, best to spend your spoils before they can get to them!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge
Switzerland
Lausanne
Vaud
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ackmondual wrote:
When pirates abound, best to spend your spoils before they can get to them!
Mythbusters: Dominion does have a theme after all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.