Bernhard Vierthaler wrote:
Sorry if I missed that in the rules:
Is there a thematic reason why a Bishop Token is discarded after a succesful Campaign against an Empire but stays on the Empire after a vote or succesful Civil or Religious War?
I felt that bishops did not participate in wars or votes, and therefore would not be casualties. I considered a special exception to kill off a bishop who was that of a losing religion in a religious war, but decided it was not worth the complication. And leave bishop-killing to other bishops.
However, in a successful campaign, the defeated empire becomes a Vassal. Because of the decision to make the Suzerain/Vassal combo act as one card for the purposes of bishops and their silencing, leaving the bishops untouched after a campaign would mean the bishops of the defeated vassal would dictate policy for the new conquerors. This seemed strange. Moreover, for rules-writing, it was easier and simpler to throw out the Vassal's bishops in the same rule that threw out the Vassal's Queens and Vassals.