Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving floating planets after space lane die is rolled. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Palmer
United States
Lebanon
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
When taking a move action, I'm unsure about the timing of moving floating planets. The rule book says you can measure the distance between the planets ahead of time. Do you do this in order to determine which specific length space lane works? Or would you measure ahead of time to see all the different combinations that might work?

Put another way, can you adjust floating planets after you have rolled the space lane die?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
in most cases, you dont measure the distance beforehand, you just roll the spacelane die, place the resulting spacelane and make it fit with an existing planet.

only if you have a specific reason to want a specific length of spacelane would it make sense to measure the distances beforehand.
this measuring is free, so it doesnt stop you from moving floating systems to connect them after rolling the die.

you can measure at any time, there is no limit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Palmer
United States
Lebanon
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Ok thanks. Was this addressed in the rules or a reply from GF9? Just would like to point out a source.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Masters
England
flag msg tools
#!STRING_NOT_FOUND!#
badge
Son of Jor-El
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the "Additional Map Rules" section on page 14 of the rulebook it says "You may use a Space Lane to test if a connection is possible before committing to Moving." which makes it pretty clear that you're allowed to measure distances before you decide what to do.

So, for example, you could test to see if a distance 4 connection was possible *before* you spend a command to move.

And as it is your turn you are free to move any unfixed planets that you like, according to the sentence in the section "Fixed vs floating systems" on page 13 where it says "On your turn, you may swing any Floating System as long as it remains connected to the system to which it's connected."

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.