Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multi Color 1 Extra Gold Tech Cost rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tony M
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I had a question about the extra gold you have to pay if you play multi color:

Rulebook wrote:

The catch is that if your heroes are more than one color, the first tech building or add-on you build costs 1 extra gold. (Neutral heroes from the starter set don’t count as being a color, so you won’t pay the extra gold with a team of red / red / neutral but you would with red / red / green.)


The total tech/add-on building cost of playing multi color for the entire game is one gold. (I.e., not one gold for each tech building / add on or anything like that.). Also, it doesn't matter if you play 2 color or 3 color, it's still just one gold extra.

I only ask because one gold does not seem like much. While the rule seems very straightforward, I wanted to make sure I didn't misread it.





1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Christensen
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are correct that it is only the very first add-on or tech building that you build. While it may not seem like much it does make getting the tower or heroes hall add-on before a tech I building very difficult. While it may not seem like a lot 1 gold in the early game is more impactful then it sounds.

There is also the penalty of off color heroes having to pay 1 more gold to play starter deck spells.
6 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Christensen
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ClanNatioy wrote:

There is also the penalty of off color heroes having to pay 1 more gold to play starter deck spells.


One exception to this I forgot to mention. If using the neutral starter deck you don't pay 1 extra to cast the spells from non neutral heroes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vash TheStampede
Saudi Arabia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmb
So neutral starter deck case
Any hero of any color can use the basic magic without paying any extra gold

How about colores starter deck. For example Red starter deck.
Does the neutral hero pay extra to use the basic red spells ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Christensen
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MVashM wrote:
So neutral starter deck case
Any hero of any color can use the basic magic without paying any extra gold


This is correct

MVashM wrote:

How about colores starter deck. For example Red starter deck.
Does the neutral hero pay extra to use the basic red spells ?


Yes, the neutral heroes have to pay extra to cast colored basic spells
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sias Mey
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Is neutral paying extra for a coloured spell official?

Its not the way I read the section about neutral heroes.

...

Hmm, further reading of the rules does make that seem likely.

Neutral spells dont have a colour, but other minor spells cost 1 more to cast if the hero is not the same colour as the spell.

so ... yeah, looks like +1 when you case with a neutral hero. But not for anything else.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To put it simple:

Neutral spell cost 0 extra no matter which hero cast it.
Any colored spell cost 1 extra if the hero is not of the same color.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jone Oma
Norway
flag msg tools
One coin does not seem like a big deal, but it actually really is. Because early game is soooo crucial, you never want to go down on workers, you want to get that tech one building up so you can play proper units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.