Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mansions of Madness: Second Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mythos Phase: Skill Checks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ed Farias
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
During the mythos phase are you allowed to:

1. Use clue tokens to change clues to successes on dice roll?
2. Use Character abilities that can alter dice rolls?
3. User Item cards that can alter dice rolls?

We went with the rule that you can do 1, but not 2 and 3.

I couldn't really find an answer in the manual, but I'm guess the mythos phase isn't considered a players turn, so you couldn't do 2 and 3.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All three.

It isn't a matter of whether or not it is your turn. It is a matter of whether or not you are making a test. The Test section of the rules mentions nothing about restricting Items to only be used on tests made during your turn. They instead say you add all the appropriate modifiers from your Items and character ability as appropriate.

So, provided your Investigator is the one making the test, go ahead and use everything at your disposal.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Farias
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, so if a card or ability is "once per turn" if you have not used it yet by the mythos phase, you can go ahead and use it during the mythos phase and then at the beginning of investigator phase, it would reset?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. The Mythos Phase is at the end of the Round, so once per Round cards can be used in the Mythos Phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Steinbach
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ArcadEd wrote:
Ok, so if a card or ability is "once per turn" if you have not used it yet by the mythos phase, you can go ahead and use it during the mythos phase and then at the beginning of investigator phase, it would reset?

Thanks!



You will notice that not a single card says "once per turn". They will say "once per round" instead. A round is specifically defined as one investigator phase and one successive mythos phase. Which means that, indeed, when the item wasn't used in the investigator phase, it is available to be used during the mythos phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Farias
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome. Thank you all!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.