$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Silent War» Forums » Rules

Subject: SMZ Movement/Transit Checks HELP rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Barksdale
United States
Glenwood Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
I'm starting to feel fairly comfortable playing this game, but I still have one question on the rules that I need to ask a few veteran players. It has to do with SMZs and staying in them.

WHEN I WANT TO MOVE INTO A SMZ DO I NEED TO ROLL FOR A TRANSIT EVENT EACH TURN?

I guess what I mean is, after I finish a turn in a SMZ, I move said submarine back to the "Operating/Done" part of the Area Activity Zone/Chart, right? If I want to stay in a SMZ for two or more turns, do I have to conduct another Transit Event to go BACK into it? I seem to remember reading that somewhere somewhen on some page that I can't find. Do you guys know what rule this is?

An example: If I am using one of the Dutch Subs XIV, and it's December 1941, it tells me that I have to keep the sub in the SMZ for the Makkaser Straight for two turns. So, on the first turn, I do my combat. Then I have to move that sub to the "DONE" section of the Java Sea AAC. On the next turn, after I flip the sub to the "OPERATING" side of the AAC, do I then need to Patrol move in order to get back to the SMZ for the Makassar Straight? I SWEAR I remember reading that somewhere, but damned if I can't find it in the rule book.

Thank you, guys. I really am starting to enjoy this game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fabbro
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Mike,

Oh man, that's a good one.

I think NOT, but I don't have a rule to cite.

Lacking a definitive Rulebook quote or designer clarification, I would say that once you are in the SMZ it is just like being "On Patrol" in a regular Sea Zone: That is, you only roll when first ENTERING the area.

As long as you remain in the area, there is no further requirement to roll for a Transit Event.

In the few instances where a sub is patrolling a SMZ for multiple turns, I just leave it in the SMZ after resolving its search.

Of course, I could be completely wrong here.

It's a great question.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Barksdale
United States
Glenwood Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
mb
Well, gee, thank you, Robert! A big, healthy cut blindfolded and I hit a home run! I figured everyone would quote chapter and verse and that and I'd feel about an inch tall. To me, it looks like once you are in the SMZ, you stay there without having to transit check each turn. But then again, I've only played all of one week, in 1941.

The only other question I have involves the tactical rating and the TDC markers. As understand it this is the sequence:
1. I place the markers per the chart for Convoy or TF.
2. I reveal the number of ships equal to the TACTICAL RATING.
3. Then i place the number of TDC markers equal to the Sub TACTICAL RATING. I HAVE to use all points, right?
4. I REVEAL the number of TDC equal to the attack value.

I can't choose to reveal only one ship if my TR is 4, right? Because how many you reveal is used against you to potentially draw escorts that can kill you deader than Julius Caesar.

I seriously lime this game a lot. I am anxious to compare the Steel Wolves game to it.
Thanks for the help, Robert.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan
United States
flag msg tools
1 Player hardcore
badge
Lone Warrior
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Blacksmith61 wrote:
I would say that once you are in the SMZ it is just like being "On Patrol" in a regular Sea Zone: That is, you only roll when first ENTERING the area.

As long as you remain in the area, there is no further requirement to roll for a Transit Event.

In the few instances where a sub is patrolling a SMZ for multiple turns, I just leave it in the SMZ after resolving its search.

Concur.

Also just want to clarify something:

soprismb wrote:
WHEN I WANT TO MOVE INTO A SMZ DO I NEED TO ROLL FOR A TRANSIT EVENT EACH TURN?


You only move into a SMZ when directed to do so by an event (unless there's a forward submarine base/tender present). I just wanted to bring this up because you used the word want in the quotation above. Per the rules, you don't move submarines into a SMZ because you want to, you move them in there because you must. See 2.1 of the rules, third bullet on page 3 of the 1.1 version of the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan
United States
flag msg tools
1 Player hardcore
badge
Lone Warrior
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
soprismb wrote:
As understand it this is the sequence:
1. I place the markers per the chart for Convoy or TF.
2. I reveal the number of ships equal to the TACTICAL RATING.
3. Then i place the number of TDC markers equal to the Sub TACTICAL RATING. I HAVE to use all points, right?
4. I REVEAL the number of TDC equal to the attack value.

I can't choose to reveal only one ship if my TR is 4, right? Because how many you reveal is used against you to potentially draw escorts that can kill you deader than Julius Caesar.

Your understanding of the sequence is correct. You must reveal a number of ships equal to the submarine's tactical rating. You may assign TDC markers to unrevealed ship counters if you don't like the ones you turned over, of course in doing so you might reveal an escort or aircraft that you otherwise wouldn't reveal!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fabbro
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Mike,

Looks like you've got a good handle on it, and Ryan brings up some important points.

Enjoy the game -It is one of my favourites!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.