$35.00
Bradley Will
United States
Hays
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have no experience with KD other than what I have learned poking around here on BGG. I need someone to briefly explain to me whether a game owner can REASONABLY (as opposed to ideally) assemble and paint survivor models so that they have the armor and equipment that match the actual in-game gear.

I'm increasingly coming to understand that the answer to this question is "No."

1. Am I correct in understanding that a character's gear might change significantly between battles?

2. Do gear changes/upgrades happen in unpredictable ways? That is, I suspect that one cannot plan that character X will have armor #1, then armor #2, then armor #3, because a character might make piecemeal changes or skip some upgrade sets. Is this correct?

3. The multi-part armor kits allow players to assemble minis that reflect their characters' equipment (I think). But can these be painted (even at the lame table quality I do) and then disassembled and reassembled as needed?

4. Do characters sometimes (or often) change gear even in the course of one play session?

5. What is the actual (typical) practice of players--particularly (but not limited to) those who paint? My suspicion is that folks might paint up the four starters and then simply use them as markers, not bothering to make sure that the character has the right armor or weapon. But then why have all these options and alternate armor models? I never have cared that my D&D mini matched my character's gear, but somehow I have gotten the impression that KD offers this as a possibility. So to go back to my original question: How does this work in actual practice?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Wirtz
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb