$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Great Battles of Alexander: Deluxe Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Successful Trump - and then? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Olav Riediger
Germany
Bedburg(Erft)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi All,

my apologies if this has been asked before. I couldn't find the answer, though.

What happens after the Order Phase of a leader who just completed that phase after a successful trump? May he try a Momentum Role? Is he Finished? Or does he stay eligible for his regular turn based on initiative?

This is not clear to me. Most likely I missed the right section in the rules that clarifies this question.


Thanks, Olav
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Miller
United States
Morgan Hill
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you are asking about a leader that Trumped another leader (friendly or enemy) and has just finished an Orders Phase followed by Shock Combat.

If so, then by 5.27, you may exercise option 1 and try for a Momentum Orders Phase.

Any Trumped leader, or leader that fails a Trump attempt is Finished. (5.44)

The leader that successfully Trumped another leader will be Finished at the end of that leader's Order Phase, or Momentum Orders Phase. See 5.15. You really need to know this rule.

Kris
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What about a successful Clinton?




(My sincere apologies. I know this is bad humor, just couldn't resist when I saw the title. I forgot it was actually termed this in the rules)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed T
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Phytoman wrote:
What about a successful Clinton?


Coincidentally, I was really surprised to see this in the printed rules for a recently acquired copy of Hoplite (which came out in 2014?):

Quote:

(5.3) Trumping
Design Note: No, this does not mean wearing a cheap,
floppy hair piece and being obnoxious… This game mechanic
is intended to simulate the effect of superiority in
the area of overall command.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobrukker
United States
flag msg tools
Where's the Thumbs Down button when you need it?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Riediger
Germany
Bedburg(Erft)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, Kris!

You got my question very well. And the answer is perfect. Thank you very much - especially for the rules references.


Cheers, Olav
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.