Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Shadowrift» Forums » Rules

Subject: Individual Card Rulings: Skills rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
An update for 2nd Edition and Sickle Moon!
As with the first time I did this, I'll be spreading this over a few days (These take a while to write), but it'll eventually have a long-form version of every card in Shadowrift, as well as a few things to keep in mind about their notable interactions with other cards.

Skills in general have an upkeep cost of 1 prowess. During Cleanup, if you paid for a Skill it remains in play (on the table in front of you) and you will be allowed to use it again next round.
Skills that are also Spells can be discarded from your hand for 1 Magic, like other Spells. However, they may not be discarded from in play for that purpose. When they first enter play you are "playing a Spell," but when using or maintaining them (even for several rounds) you are not.
Skills that are in play do not count against your hand size. During the draw step, you draw five cards regardless of how many Skills (or Stances or Loot, for that matter) you have sitting in play.

Bamboozle: Once per round, you may discard a Villager from play to gain a Coin. If it is an [Infiltrator], put it on the bottom of the Traveler Deck instead of discarding it.
A Villager only counts as "in play" if it is in the five Town Square spaces. The two Traveler spaces do not count.
Note that nothing bad happens if your Town Square is emptied this way. You can Bamboozle the last Villager in town without losing the game.

Brawler: Once per round, you may look at your top three cards. You may not reorder them and they are not drawn into your hand (so "when drawn" effects on cards like Heroism and Burn do not happen). If one of those three cards is a Wound or an Attack, you may draw it. If more than one is a Wound or Attack you may choose which to draw, but you still only draw one. The 2 or 3 cards you did not draw return to the top of your deck in the same order you picked them up.

Flanking: Any number of times per round, but only once per battle, when you play an Attack, the monster you target with the attack becomes Flanked. A Flanked monster takes +1 damage from the next attack against it from anyone other than the hero who applied the status, and then loses the Flanked status (if multiple heroes have Flanking in play it is possible that it immediately becomes Flanked again).
The number of monsters you can Flank is limited only by the number of different Attack cards you have.
Once a monster has lost your Flanked effect (by being hit by someone else) you may reapply it with another attack. However, attacking the same monster several times without action from other players will not apply multiple Flanking effects.
Each copy of Flanking provides +1 damage to the next attack against the flanked target. If you attack with 2 copies of Flanking in play, the next hero to attack your target will deal +2 damage.
All targets lose the Flanked status during Cleanup.
Related: Fireball's explosion (and Raging Inferno's...inferno) does not count as targeting anything. Only the primary target is Flanked by a Fireball.

Form of Wind: If you would gain an Affliction, you don't. All Attacks you play deal 1 damage and have no other effects. Once per round, heal a Wound from your hand.
You may be chosen as the TARGET of an Affliction. You simply don't gain it. For instance, The Harrow's final attack causes one hero to gain three Wounds. You can volunteer to be that hero, and then not get hurt.
Attacks you play while in Form of Wind are neither melee nor ranged. You are counted as Attacking when you play them.
Epic Attacks do not count as Epic when used this way.
If the source of an Affliction is somewhere other than its stack, return it to its stack when it targets you.

Frenzy: Once per round, when you make a Melee attack, you may discard a Wound from your hand (putting it into your discard pile) to deal +1 damage with that attack and ignore the normal Wound gain for the battle.
If you have multiple copies of Frenzy in play, you may discard multiple Wounds during a single round (even during the same attack) for +1 damage each.
If you would gain an extra Wound for the battle (whether because the monster deals extra Wounds or you are using Wild Charge), treat Frenzy as saying you would gain "one less Wound" for the battle.
Thus, if you have two Frenzies in play and play Wild Charge, you may discard two Wounds to deal +2 damage and gain no Wounds.

Holy Aura: Once per round, when any hero would gain a Wound, you may prevent the Wound. If you do, draw a card.
You cannot prevent Wounds that were not going to be taken anyway. For instance, if there are no Wounds left in the Wound stack, or if the attacker used Thieving Strike to take a Coin, there is no incoming Wound to prevent and thus you cannot draw a card using Holy Aura.
If you prevent a hero from taking a Wound, none of the penalties or benefits associated with it take effect. For instance, Lesser Flamewrack replaces the Wound you would take with a Burn. If you prevent the Wound, the target won't take the Burn. On the other side, if you prevent the Wound, the player whose Wound you prevented does not draw a card for Armor of Mist.

Noxious Cloud: Once per round, you add one damage counter to all monsters in spaces 2-3 and may pay 1 magic to add 1 damage to any monster.
Monsters that respond to taking a certain amount of damage in a round do count this toward that total. However, adding this damage to monsters does not count as attacking.

Wall of Snow: Once per round, end a monster's Hunt without effect. You must do this before discarding any cards for the Hunt. If the monster that would have hunted had a Heroism value of 2 or higher, you must pay 1 magic when you use this power or return this Skill to its buy stack.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor L
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmb
karishi wrote:
An update for 2nd Edition and Sickle Moon!

Thanks for this list (though you might want to put the Sickle Moon ones in a separate forum under Sickle Moon).

Quote:
Frenzy: Once per round, when you make a Melee attack, you may discard a Wound from your hand (putting it into your discard pile) to deal +1 damage with that attack and ignore the normal Wound gain for the battle.
If you have multiple copies of Frenzy in play, you may discard multiple Wounds during a single round (even during the same attack) for +1 damage each.
If you would gain an extra Wound for the battle (whether because the monster deals extra Wounds or you are using Wild Charge), treat Frenzy as saying you would gain "one less Wound" for the battle.
Thus, if you have two Frenzies in play and play Wild Charge, you may discard two Wounds to deal +2 damage and gain no Wounds.

I think I've been playing all of these (well, the ones in the base set--I don't have Sickle Moon) correctly, except for this one, since the card says that you don't take a Wound. If this is what you intend, I think it should be listed in the errata.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Douglas
United States
Virginia Beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
When using a skill that is also a spell, how does it work with the Heretic in town and other things that work off of playing a spell? Is playing a spell considered putting the skill in front of you or actually using the ability of the skill or both?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
douglasiv wrote:
When using a skill that is also a spell, how does it work with the Heretic in town and other things that work off of playing a spell? Is playing a spell considered putting the skill in front of you or actually using the ability of the skill or both?


Edited with the answer: It's when you first put it on the table.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can this and the other lists please be compiled into one PDF - it'd be nice to have a complete list instead of multiple print-offs from BGG
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
Mixo wrote:
Can this and the other lists please be compiled into one PDF - it'd be nice to have a complete list instead of multiple print-offs from BGG

I would second this. Are there any plans to combine all these Card Ruling threads into one PDF so we can include them into the game box?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
xris wrote:
Mixo wrote:
Can this and the other lists please be compiled into one PDF - it'd be nice to have a complete list instead of multiple print-offs from BGG

I would second this. Are there any plans to combine all these Card Ruling threads into one PDF so we can include them into the game box?


Yes! Though of course I have to finish writing them...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Decatur
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify: Can you Bamboozle a villager after using that villager?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Wretched Git wrote:
Just to clarify: Can you Bamboozle a villager after using that villager?


You can't. When a Villager gives Aid, it's discarded. This also helps alleviate confusion over whether you've used that ability yet.
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jensen
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you Bamboozle an Infiltrator to the bottom of the traveler deck you do not receive a coin.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
notyetsuperman wrote:
If you Bamboozle an Infiltrator to the bottom of the traveler deck you do not receive a coin.


This is inaccurate.
If you Bamboozle an Infiltrator out of town, you DO get a coin. I've edited the wording above to make that fact more explicit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert S
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you still get a coin from Thieving Strike if you use Frenzy as well?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Anderson
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
digicube wrote:
Do you still get a coin from Thieving Strike if you use Frenzy as well?


Yes. Frenzy's effect modifies the attack.
In general if you can't do part of a card you just...don't do that part. For instance you can use a boosted Seal to seal a Shadowrift even if there's not a card in Monster Power you want to throw to the bottom of the Monster Deck first.
So (assuming you're not the first attacker) you play the attack, it swaps the "would get a Wound" for "will get a Coin," and then you discard a Wound to use Frenzy. You don't have an incoming Wound to ignore, so that part doesn't happen, but the attack gets +1 damage anyway.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.