Subject: 60 Minutes segment with Focus Group on this election. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb

I have heard a lot of hateful and distressing things this campaign season... but to me this article was the most scary of them all.

Things might actually be worse than I thought.

It is worth watching and I would be interested hearing what others think after watching it.

http://www.cbsnews.com/videos/the-national-mood

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/60-minutes-american-voters-on-tr...]

Quote:

In two days, Americans will go to the polls and hopefully bring down the curtain on a contentious presidential campaign that’s been going on now for a year-and-a-half. It is no secret that most Americans are angry and disappointed with the process and the choices that they have been offered. That was confirmed last week in a CBS News/New York Times poll that found 82 percent of likely voters more disgusted than excited about the election.

We asked Republican pollster, public opinion analyst and CBS News consultant Frank Luntz if he could put faces and voices to this dark national mood by scientifically selecting a focus group that would reflect those polling results. And he did.

These are 23 people representing all aspects of the political spectrum, all aspects of economic life, all age groups. I was looking for people that could have a legitimate conversation about these presidential campaigns and not just totally smear this candidate or this candidate. And here is my problem.

It took two minutes for them to explode. It took five minutes to actually get to the point where I lost control.