Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Evolution: Gigantism Promo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan
United States
Rancho Cordova
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the ability trigger only once you have a population of at least 3, and then work each turn that you eat at least that much? Or does it allow you to eat extra food like fat tissue does, which you then convert into size?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This card does not let you store food like Fat Tissue. But at the end of every Feeding Phase, this species will gain 1 Body Size for every 3 food eaten that round.

So it will gain either 0, 1, or 2 Body Size at the end of every round (or 3 Body Size if a species has Gigantism, Fat Tissue, 3 Body Size, and eats 9 food (I've never seen that happen)).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Horton
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
domcrap wrote:
(or 3 Body Size if a species has Gigantism, Fat Tissue, 3 Body Size, and eats 9 food (I've never seen that happen)).


Challenge Accepted
4 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Parker
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've been playing with this card. Unsure on how it works with Fat Tissue. Obviously if you have the scenario mentioned by Dom above, you'd gain the appropriate amount of Body Size, but that only makes sense if Fat Tissue is empty at the start of the round.

Let's say that I have a species with 3 Body Size, 3 Population and the Fat Tissue trait. My Fat Tissue already has three food on it from a previous round. On the current round, I play Gigantism on this species. At the start of Feeding, all the Fat Tissue comes down to fill my population and I'm able to eat three additional food to refill my Fat Tissue. At the end of the round, how much does Gigantism cause my Body Size to increase? I only ate three new food and three food is going to my food bag, so is it one Body Size increase? That makes sense to me, but the scenario discussed a month ago seems to say otherwise. Does food you get from Fat Tissue count as food eaten during a round? If so, that food will count towards Gigantism twice (once on the round you put the food on to Fat Tissue and again on the following round where it feeds your population).

Kind of confusing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Food that comes down from Fat Tissue to the Species Board is not "eaten". It is "moved". I'm not sure what's confusing about this. It seems clear to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Parker
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I get it. Was just making sure.

The confusing part comes at the end of the feeding phase where you have to calculate how much food your species ate this round versus how much they just moved from fat built in a previous round. I suppose if you've got a species with both traits, you just need to pay close attention to that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominic Crapuchettes
United States
Bethesda
MD
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
North Star Games designs party games that don't suck! Play them with your non-gamer friends over the holidays.
badge
First there was Hearts, then there was Spades, and now we bring you Clubs. The suit of clubs finally gets some respect!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, good point. That part is confusing. In fact, now that you say it it jars something in my memory. That might be the reason it was removed from the first set of cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederik
Belgium
Kruishoutem
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I'm probably missing something, but...

Isn't this card only useful when
(1) you're at 3, 4 or 5 body size so you can increase one
(2) additionally when you're at 6 and your body size has been reduced to (but still 3 or more) by a carnivore attack

Because when you're getting reduced, excess food goes into your bag. Does that also count as "eaten" for this card?
In that case, (2) extends its usefulness to any lower body size too.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Parker
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Being attacked by a Carnivore never reduces Body Size, just population.

All this card does is increase your Body Size by 1 for each 3 food you've eaten. A Body Size 1 species that ate 3 food would automatically go up to Body Size 2 at the end of the round. Being Body Size 6 makes this card useless because you can't go bigger than that.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frederik
Belgium
Kruishoutem
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ugh, silly me, confused again.
Totally makes sense now, thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.