Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Mechs vs. Minions» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mission 3 Rune Shields rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yisu Wang
United Kingdom
Cardiff
flag msg tools
mb
Just want to clarify
To disable a rune shield, say red, do I have to step on and stay on one of the red rune space; the shield for Red is re-activated once my Mech leaves the red rune spaces? After the boss is attacked by a red card and one of the Mech still stay on the red rune space, Is the shield for red reactivated?
Can the attack generated from red rune space (Ziggs' schematic card), damage the boss with disabled shield for red
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Prashant Saraswat
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
You only have to step on the rune space; the shield remains disabled until you damage the boss with a card of that color. This could take multiple rounds, or be in the same round. Once you damage the boss with a card of the corresponding color, the shield reactivates immediately.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Buck
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
To further clarify, the shield deactivates when you step onto the rune only, so staying on the rune does not "permanently" disable that rune color; you have to step off and back on to disable it again
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dax is
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To further, further clarify, you don't need to end your movement on the rune space...you just need to walk over it.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evil Jello
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To further further further clarify - does the shield lower if you are pushed into the rune space or moved there by some other game effect (like a boss ability)? The rule book explicitly says that repair spaces activate regardless of how you moved there but I didn't see any such clarification for rune spaces.

I assumed yes but the mission seemed fairly easy so was thinking we may have played that wrong and lowered shields too often.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules use 'stepping on Rune spaces' to indicate deactivation. The Mech is stepping regardless of why it's moving, so yes, anything goes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Drake
United States
Pomona
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another question... Does the boss disable the rune shield when it steps on a rune space, since it is a mech?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
regblank wrote:
Another question... Does the boss disable the rune shield when it steps on a rune space, since it is a mech?

No, it's not really a Mech, it's the Boss Mech. It squishes Minions and pushes other Mechs like a Mech, but it is not considered a Mech for other things.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.