$30.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Victory in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Russian war entry rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Galle
Denmark
Kopenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

the rules regarding cardplay and CM's state the following:

Allied and sovjet CM's are played as desired until the Game Turn after sovjet entry when they must be shared equally, fractions rounded to the card color. That is, before Sovjet entry a red 3 is played as desired, but becomes Svjet 2, Allies 1 after Soviet war entry.

So the question is: What exactly does "Soviet entry" mean? If the soviet attack Finland, does that count? Or is it meant to be the war against Germany? It probably is the latter, else a 2 turn war against Finland would trigger the forced division of CM's for the remainder of the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Kwasny
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm pretty sure you are right. The USSR remains officially neutral even if it attacks a Minor power, so "entry" must mean into the big war where they lose their neutral status. At least, that is how we have always played it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Finch
United States
Pearl River
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so does turn 'after' entry mean that all CM can be given to Ru on turn of entry?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Kwasny
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
cfinchjr2 wrote:
so does turn 'after' entry mean that all CM can be given to Ru on turn of entry?


That is how we always interpreted it. Up through and including the turn the Soviets enter the main war (join the Allies), whether they attack or are attacked, the Allied player can use his Commands as he pleases.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charles Finch
United States
Pearl River
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I wonder then if the forced split of CMs when RU is active was intended to be a moderating influence on a rampant RU...so if they attack Finland, Turkey etc they have to start splitting commands with the west. Hobbling the west as well as hindering the response turn of GE Barbarossa (or muting the effect of RU attack on GE)...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Galle
Denmark
Kopenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that was exactly my thought as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ralph kramden
msg tools
This question was answered by the designer, I believe, in a post many moons ago. It may be in one of the past columbia faqs. Unfortunately, not all of the answers to such questions have been preserved across versions, or in any organized manner that does not require a fairly time cosuming search of questions. The fact that the same questions are asked again and again by new players is good evidence that the rules are frequently vague, unclear, or of insufficient detail (e.g. Naval invasions). It is a shame, because the basic design of the game is innovative and brilliant.


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.