Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Great Western Trail» Forums » Rules

Subject: No legal disc to be placed? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gertjan Davies
Netherlands
Enschede
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

First of all, let me say, what a great game and it plays very well with 2 (haven't had the opportunity yet to play with more)!

My nemesis opponent was just experimenting with a playing-strategy to reach the end of the line (and was bummed out he didn't had enough discs, moohahahah devil) He was the proverbial Hare where I managed for whatever gaming reasons (off course well thought trough whistle) to take the part of the Tortoise.

He was running around and he managed to squeeze out 2 more visits to Kansas and the following situation arised: he only had one black disc left (I believe the 6-card handsize spot) but only delivered a herd of 8 and had filled up all the cheap cities, so in effect he had to deliver to Kansas, but he didn't have a legal disc to place.

We resolved it this way:
- He was in Kansas and delivering to Kansas is always allowed
- He got his income of 8
- He also got the 6 coins
- Since he couldn't place a disc he didn't receive the 6 point penalty
(Looks sort of thematical logical)

In effect he received 7 points (no 6 point penalty plus 1 point for 5 money), which seems fair.
(Seems pointwise consistent with the 'End-of-track-strategy', he lost with 20 point difference where i went for the Cows as my main source of Points)

But what is the official ruling when a person arrives at Kansas, but has no (legal) discs to place?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ruf
United States
Acworth
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This is covered in notes and special cases on the last page of the rules. If you have ONLY black discs left, you can place them on white circles.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Pfister
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
See last page 16 - special case:
If you are supposed to place a disc onto a space with white corners but only happen to have discs on disc spaces with dark corners, you are allowed to place a disc from a disc space with dark corners onto a space with white corners. If you are supposed to place a disc but are unable to (because you have none or cannot pay for them), remove one of your discs from a train station of your choice and place that one instead.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gertjan Davies
Netherlands
Enschede
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Woops, apparently I missed that part of the rules. Thanks for the clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gertjan Davies
Netherlands
Enschede
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AlexP wrote:
See last page 16 - special case:
If you are supposed to place a disc onto a space with white corners but only happen to have discs on disc spaces with dark corners, you are allowed to place a disc from a disc space with dark corners onto a space with white corners. If you are supposed to place a disc but are unable to (because you have none or cannot pay for them), remove one of your discs from a train station of your choice and place that one instead.


Just to be sure, because the part between the brackets is somewhat conflicting with the rule on page 6 "All other costs and requirements in the game must always paid in full."

Only if you have black discs left on the handsize section, the only discs which requires a payment, then you can choose a train station disc of your choice to place as a substitute?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Pfister
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
GRDavies wrote:

Only if you have black discs left on the handsize section, the only discs which requires a payment, then you can choose a train station disc of your choice to place as a substitute?

So if this constructed case happens: You arrive in Kansas and you have placed all discs except the black one costing 5$ AND you earn less than 5$ (to be precise, have less than 5$ in cash after selling your cows). What to do? You place the black disc and pay as much as you can (in Kansas you recaive 6$. Use this money to pay the cost for the black disc).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Boston
United Kingdom
Prenton
Wirral
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AlexP wrote:
GRDavies wrote:

Only if you have black discs left on the handsize section, the only discs which requires a payment, then you can choose a train station disc of your choice to place as a substitute?

So if this constructed case happens: You arrive in Kansas and you have placed all discs except the black one costing 5$ AND you earn less than 5$ (to be precise, have less than 5$ in cash after selling your cows). What to do? You place the black disc and pay as much as you can.

Kansas pays you $6 on top of whatever you deliver, so even if you deliver a herd of 1 value, you'd get $7 overall and be able to pay the cost.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Boston
United Kingdom
Prenton
Wirral
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AlexP wrote:
See last page 16 - special case:
... If you are supposed to place a disc but are unable to (because you have none or cannot pay for them), remove one of your discs from a train station of your choice and place that one instead.


So this might make the best of a bad situation if you can remove one of the existing station disks (say one between the -3 & -1 stations ...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Pfister
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Omertron wrote:

Kansas pays you $6 on top of whatever you deliver, so even if you deliver a herd of 1 value, you'd get $7 overall and be able to pay the cost.

Good point!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Massimo Gori
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another question about this special cases. If you should upgrade a train station and you have none disc left, can you remove one disc from a train station (a lower one) and place that instead? (obviously if have enough money to complete the upgrade).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Ribbens
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AlexP wrote:
GRDavies wrote:

Only if you have black discs left on the handsize section, the only discs which requires a payment, then you can choose a train station disc of your choice to place as a substitute?

So if this constructed case happens: You arrive in Kansas and you have placed all discs except the black one costing 5$ AND you earn less than 5$ (to be precise, have less than 5$ in cash after selling your cows). What to do? You place the black disc and pay as much as you can (in Kansas you recaive 6$. Use this money to pay the cost for the black disc).


Another constructed, unlikely case: Last black disc is the increase hand size, and you want to put it on a white train station, but you don't have the 5 money to pay for the disc. Pay as much as you can?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alexander Pfister
msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Delivery(city): no disc -> you must take one from a station
station: no disc -> you may take one from a station

No disc in the correct colour -> take the wrong colour
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olivier D.
France
Brulain
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Omertron wrote:
AlexP wrote:
See last page 16 - special case:
... If you are supposed to place a disc but are unable to (because you have none or cannot pay for them), remove one of your discs from a train station of your choice and place that one instead.


So this might make the best of a bad situation if you can remove one of the existing station disks (say one between the -3 & -1 stations ...


No, those are city crest discs.
Train stations are the discs you set when advancing your engine on turnout spaces on the railroad track.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Conclusion: this will NOT work as a tricky way to remove a disc from a undesired city (e.g. from KC to avoid -6 points): each player has 14 discs, so you'd have to deliver 15 times in order to remove a disc from a lower city (presumably to San Francisco, since moving it to Kansas City for -6 points wouldn't make sense).

For one player to make 15 deliveries (and at least 7 of them with a herd worth 18+ dollars) would require the rest of the players to extremely minimize their deliveries, as even a 4p game is over after max. 23 deliveries in total.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.