$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
9 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Plan Orange: Pacific War 1930 - 1935» Forums » Rules

Subject: Air Ferry 8.35 Official Commentary rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
We are going to have a Plan Orange tournament in SD this weekend, so I wanted to offer some commentary on this rule that I have previously gotten some questions on.

First the rule as written (RAW), broken into individual sentences and commentary:

8.35 Air Ferry

1. If an air unit, any size or strength is activated for an offensive (not reaction) simultaneously with a co-located CV, not CVL naval unit then the air unit can be declared being carried by the carrier naval unit.


There are only 5 CVs in the game (Lexington, Saratoga, Akagi, Kaga, Ranger) that are eligible for this special ability. If one of these carriers begins an offensive in a port hex, colocated with a land based air unit, if you activate the air unit and the carrier, the carrier is carrying the air unit.

2. While the air unit is embarked the carrier cannot participate in a battle.

The carrier moves during the offensive and must end its movement legally during the movement. So, the carrier can end its movement in the battle hex or in a hex with a carrier that is participating in the battle or in a friendly port hex. Regardless of where it stops movement, it cannot add its values to the battle, although if in the battle hex or stacked with a carrier that is participating in the battle it can be damaged and potentially sunk.

3. During Post Battle Movement the air unit deactivates in the friendly port/airbase.

A. The CV conducts post battle movement and when it is completed, the air unit deactivates and now resides in the PBM hex.

B. What is not happening is the air unit is being flown off to an airbase so any questions regarding the timing of the air units movement and such are moot. The air unit per the rule is deactivating in the hex where the carrier ends its movement.


Hopefully this answers any question regarding this rule.

9 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wang Yun
msg tools
So this means that you can never ferry an air unit to a hex with only an airport...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
salm wrote:
So this means that you can never ferry an air unit to a hex with only an airport...


Yes, but with the proviso that an airbase hex can have a port created in it by the Fleet Train.

Mark

PS: The reason for the port is you are not flying the air units off the flight deck, but unloading them with cranes. Some of the land based air units may have been able to do so, but some were larger multi-engine models that could not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.