Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Power Grid» Forums » Rules

Subject: power plant discards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kelly Krieble
United States
Bethlehem
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If someone has three power plants and buys another plant he must discard one. Must it be the lowest one or can it be any of his three plants? Couldn't find specifically in the rules if it says you must discard your lowest plant.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Wankel engine
Avatar
mbmbmb
Your choice.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're even allowed to discard the plant you just bought if you want (this would most often happen when there's a fuel shortage.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Just call me Erik
United States
Waldorf
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can discard any plant you want, even the one you just bought. You may wish to discard your least efficient plant, your lowest capacity plant, OR you can buy and discard plants if they're cheap to force better stuff into the market (but don't do this if you will be giving someone else first dibs at a plant you want.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
skeuri
Netherlands
Alphen aan den Rijn
Zuid Holland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the German rules you must discard any one of the three already existing plants (so not the one you just bought).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The current version of Rio Grande's rules-pdf says "When a player buys a fourth plant, he must discard one of his other power plants."

So the answer is "your choice of the three you already have".

You may not discard the plant you just bought.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ax Bits
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Eric Brosius wrote:
You're even allowed to discard the plant you just bought if you want (this would most often happen when there's a fuel shortage.)

Actually, the rules explicitly forbid this.
You have to discard one of the plants you already had before you bought the new one. There is no other restriction one which you discard (unless the board has special rule. eg: I think the Quebec map forbids you from discarding Environmental plants)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls