GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

10,259 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Zombicide: Black Plague» Forums » Rules

Subject: +1 to Dice Roll : Ranged rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brian Smith
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mb
When a survivor has this skill I assume the survivor can add +1 to ranged attacks and magic attacks. I assume magic attacks are considered "ranged" attacks.

Am I correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Severs
England
Birmingham
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
i think not but its been awhile since i last played
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Hostetler
United States
Warminster
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I assume this skill is meant to only apply to ranged weapons, not spells.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelus Seniores
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bghead8che wrote:
When a survivor has this skill I assume the survivor can add +1 to ranged attacks and magic attacks. I assume magic attacks are considered "ranged" attacks.

Am I correct?


wrong, "+1 to ranged attacks" is specifically only for ranged attacks, not for magic attacks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
QorDaq H'Nter
msg tools
tlhIngan QujwI'
badge
vay' DaneHbogh yIchargh!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bghead8che wrote:
When a survivor has this skill I assume the survivor can add +1 to ranged attacks and magic attacks. I assume magic attacks are considered "ranged" attacks.

Am I correct?


To be super clear, there are currently three forms of combat in Z:BP, Magic, Melee, and Ranged. Each has it's own version of that Skill.

In this case the verbiage reads:

Z:BP Rulebook wrote:
+1 to dice roll: Ranged – The Survivor adds 1 to the result of each die he rolls in Ranged Actions. The maximum result is
always 6.


Additionally, there is a fourth version of the Skill which applies to ANY form of combat.

Z:BP Rulebook wrote:
+1 to dice roll: Combat – The Survivor adds 1 to the result of each die he rolls on a Combat Action (Melee, Ranged or
Magic). The maximum result is always 6.


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adam, Angelus and QorDaq are correct. Ranged Skills only work with Ranged Weapons as those are the only weapons you can use in a Ranged Action. Combat Spells are used in Magic Actions, and while Magic Actions follow the Ranged Action rules, Magic Actions are never considered Ranged Actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Smith
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mb
On page 35 I read "Magic Action share the same rules as Ranged Actions."

Hence, I wrongly conclude a magic action was a ranged action as well.

I now understand the distinction.

Thanks gentlemen!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Willo
Australia
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Bghead8che wrote:
On page 35 I read "Magic Action share the same rules as Ranged Actions." ....




Yeah! Same Rules, but a different classification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.