Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster spawn in location = engaged? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Taylor S
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
In the introduction quest, in act 3 when the monster spawns in the hallway, is it automatically engaged with an investigator? The rules for spawn say that if an enemy has no spawn instruction, is spawns engaged with the investigator who drew it. But the
Spoiler (click to reveal)
ghoul priest
spawns "in the hallway." So is it engaged or not? And if not, can the investigators just move away from it without incurring an attack of opportunity?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules Reference, Enemy Engagement, page 10:
"Any time a ready unengaged enemy is at the same location as an investigator, it engages that investigator, and is placed in that investigator’s threat area."
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there is someone in the Hallway then yes, it would immediately engage them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenyon Daniel
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do "prey" attributes have any impact in cases like this?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Shudde M'ell
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DocLeo wrote:
Do "prey" attributes have any impact in cases like this?


Yes, Prey is supposed to tell you which Investigator the enemy engages with when there are multiple Investigators at the Location.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DocLeo wrote:
Do "prey" attributes have any impact in cases like this?

Rules Reference, page 10:
"If there are multiple investigators at the same location as a ready unengaged enemy, follow the enemy’s prey instructions to determine which investigator is engaged."
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Deschain Delgado
Australia
flag msg tools
Can I hijack and tag a question on here related to the above?

I played solo last night, the Ghoul Priest spawned in the Hallway with me, so I'm engaged. I evaded it successfully on my first action. This exhausts the ghoul yes? Then I moved to the Parlor. Once my actions are over, the ghoul priest can't follow/move me this turn yes, because I evaded it and it's exhausted?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Martin
msg tools
mb
That is correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mad Halfling
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SirRoke wrote:
DocLeo wrote:
Do "prey" attributes have any impact in cases like this?

Rules Reference, page 10:
"If there are multiple investigators at the same location as a ready unengaged enemy, follow the enemy’s prey instructions to determine which investigator is engaged."


So does the spawn instruction then completely override the normal engagement rule where the monster engages with the investigator who drew the card, then the normal engagement rule-cascade takes place?

My specific example is: I'm in the attic with another investigator, I draw an enemy with a spawn condition of "Attic". This causes it to spawn at the Attic, which is the same location anyway, but it spawns at the location instead of automatically engaged with me (as would an enemy that didn't have the spawn condition). Then it engages with an investigator there - we check the Prey condition to see who it engages, and if that doesn't exist then we can choose?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hawk Strike
msg tools
mb
Correct.

Relevant rules text:

==If an enemy that is about to automatically engage an
investigator at its location has multiple options of whom to
engage, that enemy engages the investigator who best meets
its “prey” instructions (if multiple investigators are tied in
meeting these instructions, the lead investigator may decide
among them) (see “Enemy Engagement” on page 10).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.