$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Asia Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Midway captured. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matteo Maffei
Italy
Torino
TO
flag msg tools
What if the Japanese captures Midway in turn 2?
This just happened in our game and, given the rules, the game could be fairly over.
Japanese control over Midway means limited (or dominant) influence over the HAwaiian sea, which in turn inhibits American Strategic movement through it.
This entails ground units can only reach Hawaii via naval movement (troop transport) BEFORE they could strategic redeploy in other areas the NEXT turn, and air units cannot reach Hawaii at all (they lack the range to land there in operational movement and they cannot strategic redeploy there).
the USA are pinned.
Anybody expereinced the situation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon M
United Kingdom
Hitchin
Herts
flag msg tools
Avatar
It's certainly difficult but not impossible. Midway cannot house fleets so Japan cannot react into the sea zone around Hawaii. This means the USA can pound Midway with carrier born airbase attacks adnauseum to neutralise it.

Edit. Forgot LBA can also move operationally using sea transports. ie they can move like a normal ground unit to get to Hawaii.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matteo Maffei
Italy
Torino
TO
flag msg tools
mmmh...missed the sea transport rule for air units. Thanks for the clarification Jon M
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.