The Hotness
Games|People|Company
The Hotness has gone cold...
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Labyrinth: The Awakening, 2010 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Opponent Events / Al-Maliki rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack
United Kingdom
Brighton
flag msg tools
"All things in common"
badge
Thomas Müntzer stands alone amidst his heavily outnumbered insurgent peasant army and realises divine intervention will not be forthcoming.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Probably more a base game forum question, but specifically relates to an Awakening card so thought I'd post here.

If your opponent plays one if your cards for Ops, do you *have to* play the event if you can?

Specific incident I am thinking is Card 185 al-Maliki - if you had troops nowhere else, could US regime change with this card (ops first), then have the event happen, remove all the troops and regime change marker and directly go from Islamic Regime to neutral with one card?

Or does the Jihadist player have the option of not triggering the event?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Poutré
Canada
St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Yes... I still like 'em 32 years later...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the prerequisites of the event are met, the event WILL occur. So yeah, al-Maliki, just like Sequestration, might actually be more beneficial for the US than the Jihadist.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher O
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Summer grasses / All that remains / Of soldiers' dreams. - Basho.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A little side note - the side which played the card determines whether the event or the Ops occurs first. That little detail has saved my bacon on more than one occasion.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack
United Kingdom
Brighton
flag msg tools
"All things in common"
badge
Thomas Müntzer stands alone amidst his heavily outnumbered insurgent peasant army and realises divine intervention will not be forthcoming.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would probably be hard to pull off in practice (you'd need either no troops anywhere but the target country or just 1 huge stack (5+) of troops in a single place and nowhere else), but imagining this as a beautiful final card play - regime change all your troops into a country with the ops first (it's a 3), then have the event happen, removing the regime change marker AND sending all your troops home, allowing you a full 9 card draw on the next turn. devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Bender
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yes, there are a few Associated event cards in the Awakening expansion which, depending on the board situation, might benefit the other side when played. It always brings a smile to one's face when one can use the unique two-card play mechanic of this game system to engineer such an outcome!



Correct, the side playing a card with an opponent's event on it decides if the Operations or the Event goes first (6.3.2.1)

cool

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.