$60.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pandemic Iberia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sailor's ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Geoff Gibbs
United Kingdom
Oxford
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played last night and had a small disagreement over the usage of the Sailor's ability to travel to a port without discarding a card.

The 2 interpretations we had were:
1. The player must have a card of the colour of the port they wish to travel to, they simply don't discard it
2. The player does not need to discard a card, therefor they do not need a card.

The first seems to fit with abilities of characters in other versions of pandemic, where a player simply reveals the card. But in those versions, the ability explicitly states that they need to reveal the card and in Iberia, this is not the case.

Anyway, thoughts anyone?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aernout Casier
Netherlands
Nijmegen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What is the exact wording on the card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dirk Meijer
Netherlands
The Hague
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Z-Man Games wrote:
When you do the Move by Ship action, do not spend a card.


I'm interpreting it as the second.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
in cases like that i always remember this from my Magic The Gathering days:

"Cards don't do what they don't say."

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Leacock
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
designer
mb
Geoff,

The Sailor does not need to discard (nor even possess) a matching Player card in order to do the Sail action.

- Matt
9 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Gibbs
United Kingdom
Oxford
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all!

I was hoping that was the case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
W. Eric Martin
United States
Apex
North Carolina
flag msg tools
admin
designer
geoffgibbs wrote:
Thanks all!

I was hoping that was the case.

If possible, please change the headline to summarize the Q&A.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.