Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Pandemic: Reign of Cthulhu» Forums » Rules

Subject: Song of Kadath clarification? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dylan Crawley
msg tools
The relic card, 'Song of Kadath', says heal all players one sanity OR heal one player all sanity. Can this be used on an insane player to restore them instead of healing by sealing a gate?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Maximus
United Kingdom
Liverpool
flag msg tools
yeah, that's how i play that

i don't see why you couldn't fully heal an insane player with that relic
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Foley
United States
East Bridgewater
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It doesn't say "only works on sane players", so, sure, that has to be the intention of the card. Considering it's currently the only other way to restore sanity, I can't imagine any reason not to allow it, unless you want to make the sanity management incredibly difficult when you play. In the handful of games I've played so far, sanity management has been the trickiest element to manage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Yager
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can use this on an insane player to restore their sanity completely.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Petersen
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It can bring an insane character back to 1 sanity point if used on all characters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrés F.
Argentina
Capital Federal
Buenos Aires
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DOOMTIME wrote:
It can bring an insane character back to 1 sanity point if used on all characters?

Following the same logic, it should restore 1 point to an insane character and bring him/her back to sanity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Yager
United States
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Monroe
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
admin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The_Android wrote:
DOOMTIME wrote:
It can bring an insane character back to 1 sanity point if used on all characters?

Following the same logic, it should restore 1 point to an insane character and bring him/her back to sanity.


If that was the case...what happens if you make player 3 sane again and it's player 1 turn. Does player 3 immediately get to use 1 action point? Do they start with 1 additional action point when it becomes their turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrés F.
Argentina
Capital Federal
Buenos Aires
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
belial1134 wrote:
If that was the case...what happens if you make player 3 sane again and it's player 1 turn. Does player 3 immediately get to use 1 action point? Do they start with 1 additional action point when it becomes their turn?

Almost sure they don't immediately get to use the extra action. In the "Relic - Fine Points" section of the rules it states "When a player draws [Song of Kadath] during the Draw Cards step, they may not immediately gain an action from their increase in sanity since it is no longer the Actions step of their turn".

Applying this to your example, we can infer that player 3 can only gain an extra action if player 1 uses this relic during player 3's turn and before his/her action phase ends. Since that's not the case, player 3 cannot immediately use an action -- it's not even his/her turn!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Monroe
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
admin
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The_Android wrote:
belial1134 wrote:
If that was the case...what happens if you make player 3 sane again and it's player 1 turn. Does player 3 immediately get to use 1 action point? Do they start with 1 additional action point when it becomes their turn?

Almost sure they don't immediately get to use the extra action. In the "Relic - Fine Points" section of the rules it states "When a player draws [Song of Kadath] during the Draw Cards step, they may not immediately gain an action from their increase in sanity since it is no longer the Actions step of their turn".

Applying this to your example, we can infer that player 3 can only gain an extra action if player 1 uses this relic during player 3's turn and before his/her action phase ends. Since that's not the case, player 3 cannot immediately use an action -- it's not even his/her turn!


Makes sense.

So the only time Song of Kadath would give a player who went from insane to sane, 1 AP immediately would be if it was the active player who used it and went from insane to sane?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrés F.
Argentina
Capital Federal
Buenos Aires
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
belial1134 wrote:
So the only time Song of Kadath would give a player who went from insane to sane, 1 AP immediately would be if it was the active player who used it and went from insane to sane?

Also if an inactive player uses it to restore the sanity of the active player before he/she finishes the action phase, i.e. before the active (and currently insane) player starts drawing cards. In that case the active player, still in the action phase, would gain an extra action by going back to sanity.

Remember relics can be played by anyone, not just the active player! They can be played during someone else's turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.