$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hellas» Forums » Rules

Subject: Apparent Rule Contradiction re Build Temple Action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aram Schvey
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules are clear that while you can generally choose not to perform an action, this is not true for the build temple action -- if the player cannot or doesn't want to build the temples he has to refrain from taking the action.

However, later in the same section the rules say that the first player to choose build temple becomes the start player -- "even if the player decides not to perform the action!"

I find this confusing as the previous part of the rule says that the player choosing build temple MUST perform the action.

What gives?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Fakkeldij
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The English wording can be a bit unclear, but the intention is: "You have to build the exact number of pillars (2, 3 or 5), or none. But if you build none, you can still choose this action, you don't receive a ring, but will be start player in the next round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ba Do
Belgium
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is also my interpreation. But as follow-up question, does the player need to pay only for performing the (complete) action? In other words, does the player need to pay to choose the action if s/he doesn't want to perform it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Fakkeldij
Netherlands
Beverwijk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can choose the action and not performe/pay it. Possibly just to block it for another player.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.