$35.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

BIOS: Origins» Forums » Rules

Subject: Southern and Ocean Hexes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefano Tine'
Italy
Genoa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The southern hexes below the tropical latitude have no latitude specified (excluding homelands, which are considered tropical). Same for all ocean slots, in particular the non Rift Bridge Disk ones.

Does this mean that during New Era Tiles events:

a) no new biomes will ever enter there and

b) no herbivore immigrant biomes will ever enter there (but can move there during greenhouse shifts) and

c) no predator immigrant will ever enter there?

Also, during Milankovich events:

d) immigrant biomes there will not be affected?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Eklund
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe the answer is yes to all.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyrill Melai
Netherlands
Nijmegen
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Once I could recite whole episodes of Dexter's Laboratory.
mbmbmbmbmb
You appear to make a distinction between entering and moving to southern latitudes by only allowing biome immegrants to move to southern latitudes.

I believe all can move to southern latitudes during greenhouse shifts.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Tine'
Italy
Genoa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
phileklund wrote:
I believe the answer is yes to all.


Thanks Phil.

NoDDs wrote:
You appear to make a distinction between entering and moving to southern latitudes by only allowing biome immegrants to move to southern latitudes.

I believe all can move to southern latitudes during greenhouse shifts.


Yes, I was referring strictly to tiles entering play in a New Era Tiles event.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Tine'
Italy
Genoa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
One more question about the Southern hexes:

e) if empty, are they considered water at 1600+ ppm (15.2 Archipelago) like all other empty biomes or are they always land?

I am asking because there seems not to be any special rule exception for them, meaning they are probably water at 1600pm. However, the Vassal module flags all empty biomes as water at 1600pm except for those southern ones.

Bug in the Vassal module or some rule clarification by Phil that didn't make to the latest living rules?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyrill Melai
Netherlands
Nijmegen
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Once I could recite whole episodes of Dexter's Laboratory.
mbmbmbmbmb
I noticed something odd in the vassal model concerning marking empty hexes as water as well. I thought it was a bug. As far as I know all hexes are the same irrespective of their location (or whether they contain land mass or not).

Except for rifts and home biomes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Tine'
Italy
Genoa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
NoDDs wrote:
I thought it was a bug.


Yes, it's a Vassal bug, just got confirmation by Phil via email.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.