Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: backstab - weird card. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
souloon souloon
Poland
flag msg tools
How exactly backstab works?

Does engaged enemy got an attack of opportunity if you play backstab on him or not?

It's an event not a skill so you're not commiting it to the fight check so it looks like you would be still provoking your enemy by playing a card...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Lapsley
United States
Verona
WI
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have it in front of me, but doesn't backstab include one of the keywords that does not trigger an attack of opportunity?

Even if you play an event, if that event has "Fight" or "Evade" or one of the other keywords, it counts as that type of action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Taco Gonzales
msg tools
mb
It's an event, but it resolves as a Fight action (the card says Fight.). Monsters do not get an attack of opportunity on Fight/Evade/Parley/Resign actions.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mathew rynich
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Argama Flight Crew
badge
INFERNO BLADE!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
it initiates a combat action. Therefore the enemy does not get an attack of opportunity. Fast cards do not as well as cards that initiate an evasion check. Combat actions, Evade actions, Resign actions and Parley actions do not trigger attacks of opportunity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brendan Lapsley
United States
Verona
WI
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TaquitoBandito wrote:
It's an event, but it resolves as a Fight action (the card says Fight.). Monsters do not get an attack of opportunity on Fight/Evade/Parley/Resign actions.


Right. This does mean that the other rules for "Fight" come in to play, such as missing against a monster engaged with another player (dealing them damage) or taking damage if the monster has "Retaliate" and you miss.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.