$35.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie ques tions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Z Endo
msg tools
Hi all,

I had a read through the posts and can't find these questions so I hope someone can help. I have the deluxe edition.

1. In the turn section does one player always start for a set round?
2. Should the cards marked optional be in the main draw deck?
3. Does the headline play count as a round?

Thanks in advance!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rubin
United States
Trenton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Harmony, liberal intercourse with all nations, are recommended by policy, humanity, and interest.
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Each round consists of a Soviet card play followed by an American card play.
2. If you choose to use them, treat them as normal cards. When they go into draw deck depends on whether they are Early, Middle, or Late War cards.
3. No.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Sachs
United States
Woodinville
Washington
flag msg tools
Despite your hope, there is not even any inherent symbolism; gravity is simply a coincidence.
mbmbmbmbmb
Zendo221 wrote:
1. In the turn section does one player always start for a set round?


For each round within a turn, the USSR takes an action first, then the US.

Quote:
2. Should the cards marked optional be in the main draw deck?


They don't have to, though many (most?) players do so. Certainly if you do, you should include them all.

Also be sure to include them in the appropriate era (early, mid, or late) war.

Quote:
3. Does the headline play count as a round?


No, headline resolution is not an action round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Z Endo
msg tools
Thank you both! :-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Valentine

Texas
msg tools
mb
Just FYI on the optional cards, I'd guestimate that 95+% of games online use the optional cards, as well as any tournament I've ever heard of. So, if you're just starting and think you might ever play online, I'd include them.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hisham Masri
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
mb
Zendo221 wrote:
Hi all,

I had a read through the posts and can't find these questions so I hope someone can help. I have the deluxe edition.

1. In the turn section does one player always start for a set round?
2. Should the cards marked optional be in the main draw deck?
3. Does the headline play count as a round?

Thanks in advance!


I have a feeling that I understand your concern as a new player. Assuming I am correct (we all like to assume this and are too often wrong), I figure you are concerned that the Russians have the advantage, since they always go first in every round. You would be correct, and that is intentional. But to counter this point, America gets the final say in every round which is powerful if you know how to use it!

As for optional cards, definitely use them! They're great and add fun mechanics.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.