Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Price of Freedom: The American Civil War 1861-1865» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combining armies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rostov Roskovoskky
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Playing a 2OP card, can I move a CSA army from Jackson->Memphis, then move a CSA army from Corinth->Memphis and then have both CSA armies attack a Union army in Memphis?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Renaud Verlaque
United States
Shelter Island Heights
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Yes. The 2 OP card allows you to move 2 armies, per 16.1. Battles are resolved when all moves are completed, per 17.1. Only one commander can be involved per side, per 17.2.1. It must be the theater commander if there is one, per 17.2.2, and he can only engage a number of corps compatible with its rank, per 17.2.4 (but see Concentration card for exception). Note, however, that the 2 armies are moved sequentially, and the defending army could withdraw in front of the first army before the second army arrives.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rostov Roskovoskky
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for your quick reply! Using the above examples, if both commanders are Field Commanders, do they both attack simultaneously(combining corps) OR does each army attack seperately?(resolve 1st army battle, then 2nd army battle) ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Memory (and a quick check of the rules) seems to indicate you only fight with one battle. If your first army loses, your both commanders retreat.

"17.5.1 The losing side, if it attacked or intercepted, must retreat to the
region, or any 1 of the regions, from which it came." (p. 21)

Barring having a TC, it's not really worth it to bring two different commanders to the battle (maybe if both have 1 corps on them only), go for two separate regions instead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.