Popular Tags: [View All]
Swood
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
My wife and I taught ourselves how to play San Juan. And typical of self-taught games, we realized after quite some time that we had actually been playing it incorrectly. However, we feel that *our* version was much better!

The only difference is with the Craftsman role. We played that we had to produce from cards in OUR HAND. The official rules state that you draw a card and place it face down on your production building. Instead, we were forced to make agonizing decisions about which cards to pull from our hand to use as production items.

After a while, we realized our mistake and began playing the "right" way, only to feel that our way made the game much more exciting.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Hayter

Metuchen
New Jersey
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It makes indigo useless, however, since it costs a card from your hand to produce it and you can't gain more than a card back in your hand for selling it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Swood
United States
Stamford
Connecticut
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, I suppose Indigo still has utility then as a card swapper.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Sapp
United States
Columbia
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
One of our players last night kept trying to do this.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brent Mair
United States
Roy
Utah
flag msg tools
The Meeple Nation Boardgame Podcast - 30 minutes a week!
badge
BGGCon 2015 or Bust
mbmbmbmbmb
Skadar wrote:
My wife and I taught ourselves how to play San Juan. And typical of self-taught games, we realized after quite some time that we had actually been playing it incorrectly. However, we feel that *our* version was much better!

There's some familiarity aspect that makes you think it is even though it probably isn't. It happens all the time.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Keck
United States
Utah
flag msg tools