1. Defenders must play declare face offs prior to repositioning or can they reposition then declare a face off.
2. A couple hexes on the edge of the box are half inside the penalty area and half outside. If a foul is committed there is it a penalty or free kick?
I enjoyed my first time playing it but these questions came up a lot, thanks for any clarification.
Australian Capital Territory
I believe repositioning is the last thing that you do on your turn, therefore you would need to face off first then, once resolved, reposition.
As for the second questions...I'm not sure, I never thought about it until now...
Page 7 of the rulebook:
After the attacking team is done it is time for the defensive turn:
1. Defensive Action.
You may play your Defensive Action cards in two different ways:
-Make a tackle move and try to steal the ball from your opponent.
-Use the tactical move on the card.
2. Team Repositioning.
Once the defensive turn has finished it is time to reposition your team before the next attacking turn
In other words, NO you cannot initiate a face-off after Team repositioning phase.
Page 5 of the rulebook:
"Partial hexes on the board are playable.
Bear in mind that hexes that have a line across them belong to the area
that line demarcates (i.e. Hexes that are crossed by the penalty box line
fully belong to penalty box)."