Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Arkham Horror: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wendy's Amulet and Event Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mario Hocks
Netherlands
Simpelveld
Limburg
flag msg tools
Wendy's Amulet says that if I play an Even it goes to the bottom of My dech instead of the discard pile.
Now i'm wondering, if I use an event Card from my hand to boost a skill test with the icons on the left, does that still count as having played the Event?
Else I would be able to spend them on a skill test and after that use te Event from the discard pile. Seems a bit OP.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nushura
Japan
Sendai
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No you cannot. That is not playing the event. You need to commit to a skill check that it's different
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Dockery
msg tools
mb
That's exactly how it's supposed to work. It's her signature card; it's supposed to be powerful.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nushura wrote:
No you cannot. That is not playing the event. You need to commit to a skill check that it's different


This.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard A. Edwards
United States
Lacey
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Novais wrote:
Wendy's Amulet says that if I play an Even it goes to the bottom of My dech instead of the discard pile.
Now i'm wondering, if I use an event Card from my hand to boost a skill test with the icons on the left, does that still count as having played the Event?

Instead of "use" a card to boost a skill test, it is called "commit".

"The investigator performing the skill test may commit any number of cards with an appropriate skill icon from his or her hand to this test." After the test, "discard all cards that were committed to this skill test."

The to play a card: "an investigator must pay the card’s resource cost and meet any applicable play restrictions and conditions. Most cards can only be played by taking a play action"

Both quotes from the Rules Reference. So if you commit a card it is NOT played.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mario Hocks
Netherlands
Simpelveld
Limburg
flag msg tools
Ok so to clarify.
I Commit an event card for a skill test and put it in the discard pile.
After that i can take that event card from the discard pile and play it as if it were in my hand (as it is the top most event card).
And after that i put it on the bottom of my deck because i played the event.

6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
Bingo!
You have just unlocked what I call the "Wonder Wendy" Deck.
Phoenix
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fake name
msg tools
Stick as many events as you can, commit them first, then play them from the discard pile, to make them go back into the deck?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jack skellington
msg tools
Ok, so gar so good. But how often can I take the top event from the discard pile back in my hand? I understand it that way, that I could do this only once when I play Wendys Amulett.
Is that wrong? If I could use it anytime there would be that circle arrow I suppose!?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Probst
Germany
Kiel
Schleswig Holstein
flag msg tools
It's a permanent/passive/constant ability, you can do that for every event in your discard pile (one at a time since you can only use the top one).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arkham Chronicle
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you are ever confused about Wendy then why not check out her video here:

https://youtu.be/CKjdqhzNfls

The Arkham Chronicle Gang
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B.D. Flory
United States
New York
flag msg tools
orbiting wrote:
Ok, so gar so good. But how often can I take the top event from the discard pile back in my hand? I understand it that way, that I could do this only once when I play Wendys Amulett.
Is that wrong? If I could use it anytime there would be that circle arrow I suppose!?


Events in discard don't actually go to your hand, to be clear. So you can't commit them, or discard them to pay costs, or access any event other than the topmost event.

But you can play as many events as you like from your discard, yes -- provided each play is the topmost event.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.