Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A Game of Thrones: Hand of the King» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tied character cards at the end of a turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Byron Olson
United States
Ramsey
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Hey...
badge
Down here...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say I take a Tully house card. My opponent took a Tully house card on a previous turn. After taking my card, I check all my house cards and see that I have one Tully house card, and my opponent has one Tully house card. So, I take the banner from him.

On his next turn, he takes a Baratheon card. He then checks his cards, and see that he still has one Tully house card to my one Tully house card. Does he then take the banner back, even though he didn't interact with the Tully house at all? Does it keep bouncing back and fourth between the two of us, until one of the two Tully cards gets "Taken" or "Killed," or Jon Snow adds to the Tully house total? I'm assuming yes, and I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but I was wondering if the banners stayed put until the particular house was interacted with.

Again, sorry if this is dumb, just wanted to make sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
bruno cathala
France
st pierre en faucigny
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
soiledshortz wrote:
Say I take a Tully house card. My opponent took a Tully house card on a previous turn. After taking my card, I check all my house cards and see that I have one Tully house card, and my opponent has one Tully house card. So, I take the banner from him.

On his next turn, he takes a Baratheon card. He then checks his cards, and see that he still has one Tully house card to my one Tully house card. Does he then take the banner back, even though he didn't interact with the Tully house at all? Does it keep bouncing back and fourth between the two of us, until one of the two Tully cards gets "Taken" or "Killed," or Jon Snow adds to the Tully house total? I'm assuming yes, and I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but I was wondering if the banners stayed put until the particular house was interacted with.

Again, sorry if this is dumb, just wanted to make sure.


No.. in each family, majorities are checked only when someone picks or kills a character of this family.

In your example, picking a baratheon has no effect on Tully's house banner.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron Olson
United States
Ramsey
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Hey...
badge
Down here...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh wow. Thanks. I'm glad I asked then. I didn't get this from reading the rules, so thank you very much Bruno for the clarification. Fun game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Vallerand
Canada
St-Basile-Le-Grand
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruno des Montagnes wrote:
soiledshortz wrote:
Say I take a Tully house card. My opponent took a Tully house card on a previous turn. After taking my card, I check all my house cards and see that I have one Tully house card, and my opponent has one Tully house card. So, I take the banner from him.

On his next turn, he takes a Baratheon card. He then checks his cards, and see that he still has one Tully house card to my one Tully house card. Does he then take the banner back, even though he didn't interact with the Tully house at all? Does it keep bouncing back and fourth between the two of us, until one of the two Tully cards gets "Taken" or "Killed," or Jon Snow adds to the Tully house total? I'm assuming yes, and I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but I was wondering if the banners stayed put until the particular house was interacted with.

Again, sorry if this is dumb, just wanted to make sure.


No.. in each family, majorities are checked only when someone picks or kills a character of this family.

In your example, picking a baratheon has no effect on Tully's house banner.


That is how we played it too, but the written rules read "in one particular house", meaning you choose any one. C'est assez contradictoire! Is that a translation error?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bruno des Montagnes wrote:
soiledshortz wrote:
Say I take a Tully house card. My opponent took a Tully house card on a previous turn. After taking my card, I check all my house cards and see that I have one Tully house card, and my opponent has one Tully house card. So, I take the banner from him.

On his next turn, he takes a Baratheon card. He then checks his cards, and see that he still has one Tully house card to my one Tully house card. Does he then take the banner back, even though he didn't interact with the Tully house at all? Does it keep bouncing back and fourth between the two of us, until one of the two Tully cards gets "Taken" or "Killed," or Jon Snow adds to the Tully house total? I'm assuming yes, and I'm sorry if this is a stupid question, but I was wondering if the banners stayed put until the particular house was interacted with.

Again, sorry if this is dumb, just wanted to make sure.


No.. in each family, majorities are checked only when someone picks or kills a character of this family.

In your example, picking a baratheon has no effect on Tully's house banner.

Ah! I'm glad to say I've been playing it correctly so far, but upon re-reading the rules I had the exact same question as Byron, as it is very unclear in the rules as written.

I am very glad that majorities are checked only when someone picks or kills a character of a particular family, otherwise it would effectively spoil the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.