Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Agricola, Master of Britain» Forums » Rules

Subject: Internecine War rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gonzalo Santacruz de la Torre
Spain
Rivas Vaciamadrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Tom, could you give me an example of this case?
Because as I understand it, you need to have different tribes in the same tribal box, and I don't know how it could happen, as by the Hostile reactions each tribe have to be placed in it's own tribal box (so matching with its name). So if you will have always the same tribe map units in the tribal boxes...how it works?

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Erwin wrote:
Tom, could you give me an example of this case?
Because as I understand it, you need to have different tribes in the same tribal box, and I don't know how it could happen, as by the Hostile reactions each tribe have to be placed in it's own tribal box (so matching with its name). So if you will have always the same tribe map units in the tribal boxes...how it works?

Thanks


Hi Gonzalo,

Internecine War is triggered when you place a third Tribal Unit in the box for that particular tribe and there isn't a leader present. For example, when you place a third Silures unit in the Silures box, it triggers Internecine War.

At that point, you want to check the row for that tribe on the Internecine War Table, and determine if there are any units belonging to the Primary Target tribe on the map; if not, you check the Secondary Target. To continue the example, the Silures would check first if there are any Demetae Units (who would be in the Demetae Box), and resolve the warfare against the top-most Unit in that box. If there are no Demetae Units, then you'd check if there are any Ordovices (Secondary Target for the Silures).

Let me know if that clears it up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gonzalo Santacruz de la Torre
Spain
Rivas Vaciamadrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
Yes, thanks. The problem was that the rules left me in doubt about which tribal box I had to consult, but as it's impossible to have different tribes in the same box...
And I saw too that my plays were always full of tribes, so something was wrong on my side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Poland
Poznan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One more question. I assume that leader must be in the same Tribal box as those three Tribal Unit, right? It's not enough for him to be in Region to prevent Internecine War?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Triantafyllidis
United Kingdom
Torquay
Devon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He needs just to be in the region
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fabvier wrote:
He needs just to be in the region


Yes, that's correct - he's "uniting" the region, at least temporarily, and thus preventing the in-fighting for a spell.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Poland
Poznan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tomrussell wrote:
Fabvier wrote:
He needs just to be in the region


Yes, that's correct - he's "uniting" the region, at least temporarily, and thus preventing the in-fighting for a spell.

Damn, I've followed the rules in different direction. One more question. Does 9.8 Marker & Cup Adjustment trigger Internecine War when replenishing units on the map to 8?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Triantafyllidis
United Kingdom
Torquay
Devon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hm thats a good one-I was thinking on posting a question myself.In the end i went with the spirit of the rules and temporary interupted the game flow to resolve the internecine war and its implications and then continue with the rest of the step
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fabvier wrote:
Hm thats a good one-I was thinking on posting a question myself.In the end i went with the spirit of the rules and temporary interupted the game flow to resolve the internecine war and its implications and then continue with the rest of the step


Yep, you would still resolve Internecine war in that case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Dolinski
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
What happens on set-up. If you are drawing tan units and you happen to draw 3 tribal units of the same box? As you start the first turn do you resvolve this as an internecine war or do you have to wait until another tribe is drawn and you place it in the box and so have 4 and then resolve it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Russell
United States
Dearborn
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spdolinski wrote:
What happens on set-up. If you are drawing tan units and you happen to draw 3 tribal units of the same box? As you start the first turn do you resvolve this as an internecine war or do you have to wait until another tribe is drawn and you place it in the box and so have 4 and then resolve it?


You might possibly have a "first edition" copy of the game without the updated/clarified rules. The rules from December 2016 on (which would be in any copies of the game produced since then, and are the rules available here on BGG) clarify that during set-up, Internecine War is never triggered.

If you do have the old rules, I would highly recommend downloading the new ones, as there were a couple of tweaks which nerfed peacekeeping. (The game still works perfectly fine with the "old" rules, provided you don't spam peacekeeping; but the game works better with the rules that were updated in December.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.