$15.00
$5.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Conan» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few questions after our first session rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
Hello.
Yesterday we played the first scenario, and a lot of questions came up. Here are some:

1. Explosive orb: does the manipulation symbol mean that you can throw it in another area (using gems)? Then what if you use it in your own area... is it free? Does it deal damage to you too in this case?

2. Can you perform a ranged attack in your area?

3. Does the armor value of an Overlord's unit remain unchanged after a failed attack? For example: I understand that every attack is resolved individually. Let's say that three different heroes attack a Pict warrior (armor value 2) in the same turn, and each one of them rolls a 2. I suppose the Pict warrior survives even not using a guard action, because every attack is covered by his value 2 armor.

4. Do you have to declare if you want to use a guard action before the opponent's attack roll, or you can choose to do it after having seen the result? And what about the rerolls? We played using this order, since it looked like the most reasonable:
a. attacker declares an attack and the number of gems;
b. defendant declares the guard and the number of gems;
c. attacker rolls and then possibly rerolls;
d. defendant rolls and then possibly rerolls.


4.1 You can't add gems to your action during the action itself, right? I mean, in the previous example, the attacker cannot add a point at the end like:
e. add a gem to roll another dice and add the result to the attack value;
...I suppose.

Thank you and sorry if there were already active threads about this stuff.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lexpweller wrote:
1. Explosive orb: does the manipulation symbol mean that you can throw it in another area (using gems)? Then what if you use it in your own area... is it free? Does it deal damage to you too in this case?


Thread 1653572 (among others).

lexpweller wrote:
2. Can you perform a ranged attack in your area?


Yes. The rules explicitly say that one always has LOS to their own Area, the implication of which is that ranged attacks are always legal in one's own area.

lexpweller wrote:
3. Does the armor value of an Overlord's unit remain unchanged after a failed attack?


Yes. It applies every single time the unit is attacked.

lexpweller wrote:
4. Do you have to declare if you want to use a guard action before the opponent's attack roll, or you can choose to do it after having seen the result? And what about the rerolls? We played using this order, since it looked like the most reasonable:
a. attacker declares an attack and the number of gems;
b. defendant declares the guard and the number of gems;
c. attacker rolls and then possibly rerolls;
d. defendant rolls and then possibly rerolls.



You don't need to declare an intent to defend until after the attack roll is made. Rerolls for the attack must be made before the defender decides to defend (and, possibly, reroll).

lexpweller wrote:
4.1 You can't add gems to your action during the action itself, right? I mean, in the previous example, the attacker cannot add a point at the end like:
e. add a gem to roll another dice and add the result to the attack value;


Correct. You cannot add gems after rolling the dice. You CAN use gems to attack/action again, but it's a new roll using new dice. You CAN also keep spending gems to reroll any dice from the current "pool" (attack/action) any number of times.

lexpweller wrote:
Thank you and sorry if there were already active threads about this stuff.


If you'll do a subject-only search on the word "first", you'll find lots of threads with an almost identical title to this one, many of them posing similar questions (you also brought up some which aren't asked all that often (but are asked )).
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
sgbeal wrote:

You don't need to declare an intent to defend until after the attack roll is made. Rerolls for the attack must be made before the defender decides to defend (and, possibly, reroll).


Thanks for the reply, it was very helpful.
Regarding this attack/defend order rule, is it somewhere on the rulebook, or did you get it from other sources? I'm just asking because it makes things easier for the defendant, and easy things are often suspicious
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
CK Lai
Malaysia
Subang Jaya
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sgbeal wrote:

lexpweller wrote:
2. Can you perform a ranged attack in your area?


Yes. The rules explicitly say that one always has LOS to their own Area, the implication of which is that ranged attacks are always legal in one's own area.


But remember: ranged attacks are subject to hindering. Melee attacks aren't.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephan Beal
Germany
Geltendorf
Bayern
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
lexpweller wrote:
sgbeal wrote:

You don't need to declare an intent to defend until after the attack roll is made. Rerolls for the attack must be made before the defender decides to defend (and, possibly, reroll).


Thanks for the reply, it was very helpful.
Regarding this attack/defend order rule, is it somewhere on the rulebook, or did you get it from other sources? I'm just asking because it makes things easier for the defendant, and easy things are often suspicious


Page 7 of the Heroes Book, under "Guard":

Quote:
When a hero is attacked, after the attack power is determined, the hero defends against the attack. The hero chooses whether or not to perform a Guard action.


The "attack power" is the final result of the attack roll(s) (as per pages 5 (melee) and 6 (ranged)), so that wording makes it clear that the attack must be completed before the defender must decide anything.

Page 8 of the OL book says the exact same thing for the OL's units (so they also get the benefit of seeing the attack results before committing to defense).

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
sgbeal wrote:
When a hero is attacked, after the attack power is determined, the hero defends against the attack. The hero chooses whether or not to perform a Guard action.


Oh, right... Thanks again and see you at the next doubt!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.