Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jimmy Lin
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm interested to know how Traders of Genoa and Chinatown compare to each other? What are the pros and cons of each and what makes each one unique.

From my impression, Traders is more complex and harder to learn and also plays longer, is this correct?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nate Straight

Covington
Louisiana
msg tools
badge
mbmb
BeachBoy3000 wrote:
I'm interested to know how Traders of Genoa and Chinatown compare to each other? What are the pros and cons of each and what makes each one unique.

From my impression, Traders is more complex and harder to learn and also plays longer, is this correct?

I have no knowledge of Chinatown whatsoever, but Traders of Genoa is not incredibly difficult to learn (the only thing really tough is the fact that the rules for handling negotiations are needlessly convoluted) nor terribly complex. Also, it doesn't take very long at all, at most an hour once you figure it out, if not 45 minutes or under.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I have to disagree. A game of Traders is significantly longer than that, nearly 2 hours, and can be much worse if someone in the group insists on negotiating deals even after it is clear to everyone else in the room that there is no deal to be had.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sterling Babcock
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
admin
Winkles is here to help!
badge
Please let me know how I can help you.
mbmbmbmbmb
I know traders is on the order of 2 hours, and well worth it. It is not really that hard to learn. You do have to keep the negotiations going, though.

Chinatown is shorter, probably an hour.

I really like both games, but Traders of Genoa is my favorite of the two.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Huzonfirst
United States
Manassas
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer