Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Claiming Ships - Do you exchange? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy
Norway
Stavanger
Rogaland
flag msg tools
badge
"I am the one who knocks..."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

So I have a quick question regarding the "Claiming Ships" step of the combat phase. If you decide to claim a ship from another player, do they take your ship in it's post battle condition while you take theirs?

I.e. do you upgrade and they downgrade? (if the ships are of different value that is)

Or do they still keep their ship class but you just upgrade?

Thanks! arrrh

Andy
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Abdullah Ibrahim - Water from an Ancient Well
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AndersonCouncil wrote:
Hi,

So I have a quick question regarding the "Claiming Ships" step of the combat phase. If you decide to claim a ship from another player, do they take your ship in it's post battle condition while you take theirs?

I.e. do you upgrade and they downgrade? (if the ships are of different value that is)

Or do they still keep their ship class but you just upgrade?

Thanks! arrrh

Andy

From the FAQ:

Quote:
Q: When claiming an enemy ship after a battle, what state is
the ship in?

A: You claim the enemy ship in its current state including
damage and any Ship Mods. it may have had. Crew
however you bring along from your previous ship.

Q: The rules don’t mention the ability to transfer Crew to a
captured ship – can I?

A: Yes, the rules aren’t clear on this. When you claim a ship
you fill it with Crew from your old ship.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Up Nort' Der
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
High Frontier PBF #17 - Failing spaceward!
badge
We must move forward, not backward, upward, not forward, and always twirling, twirling, twirling towards freedom!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The player you defeated is killed and restarts with a new captain whether you keep their ship or not.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
The looser of crew combat, looses his ship no matter if the winner takes it or not. Then look in the rulebook for what happens when a captain dies. How he starts again with a new captain and ship (sloop or flute).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Parkin
United States
Stow
Ohio
flag msg tools
Push Cubes. Blow Stuff Up.
badge
MIND. BLOWN.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


PEACE OUT
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad103
United States
Skaneateles
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Annowme wrote:


PEACE OUT


Quick Get the Salvage Pulley!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.