Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Mummy's Mask – Base Set» Forums » General

Subject: Mavaro character rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Takai
Switzerland
Thun
Switzerland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do not understand Mavaros power to "display a card to gain all skills listed on the check to acquire for that card equal to your Intelligence until the end of the turn."

I suppose that means if i display the weapon Falcata Mavaro gains Strength and Melee 7. No die is rolled when a Strength or Melee check is required, 7 it is. That would be versatile indeed, but how does the bit about Intelligence fit in?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It means that you would gain any skills listed equal to his Intelligence die, so for your example he would gain Str and Melee 1d10.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Takai
Switzerland
Thun
Switzerland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, that makes sense.

As the card type to display is not limited, this is very powerful. He has d10 on basically everything. Arcane and Divine through Spells; Strength, Melee and Ranged through Weapons; Craft, Disable, Perception, Knowledge, Survival through Items.

Great idea, I really like this "meta" character.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, the only downside is that you then cannot use the card displayed for its power and, since you have already displayed a card, you can't play any other cards of that type. So once you have displayed the weapon, you cannot use any other weapons unless they specifically allow it (such as a dagger). In many cases, it might be better to reveal or discard the card for extra dice rather than improving an existing die.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can actually still play a card of that type. When Mavaro displays it, he isn't playing a weapon.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Austin Fleming
United States
West Covina
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, that's right, it's for his power not a power on the card. blush
Well, you still can't use that specific weapon and would have to have another one in your hand...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert O'Hearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually.....

Mavaro attempts a combat check against a bane: the steps are

1. Determine what skill you are using -- Mavaro reveals a weapon which allows him to use (for example) his Strength or Melee skill + d8 + 1
2. Determine the difficulty -- say the bane says the difficulty to defeat is Combat 10
3. Play cards and use powers that affect your check -- Mavaro displays the same weapon he just revealed, which has a Strength check to acquire, to gain Strength equal to his Intelligence (say his Intelligence is d10 + 1)
4. Assemble your dice -- d10 + d8
5. Attempt the roll -- Mavaro rolls d10 + d8 and adds 2

This trick only works with a card you reveal to determine the skill to use -- it doesn't work with spells, because those are never reveal to use.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert O'Hearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note, when Mavaro uses a skill he has gained which is equal to his Intelligence skill, he is not making an Intelligence check. (thread)

Note, Mavaro is able to pick from the skills he has. For example: Mavaro already has the skill Disable: Dexterity + 3. If he gains Disable : Intelligence + 1, he has both these skills, and could choose to use either on a Disable check. (MM sometimes penalizes you for overkilling checks.)
(same thread)

Note, there is no official word on this, but the community consensus is Mavaro can display any number of cards at the end of his turn, as long as each gives him a skill he has not yet gained in the same fashion, in order to recharge them at the end of his turn. (that thread)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Takai
Switzerland
Thun
Switzerland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the links, very interesting. I'll give Mavaro a try. Which character would you pair him with?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Jandt
msg tools
mbmb
elcoderdude wrote:
Actually.....

This trick only works with a card you reveal to determine the skill to use -- it doesn't work with spells, because those are never reveal to use.


Could you do this with a Cure spell since that states you reveal it and discard later.

And in that case, would you discard it or recharge it as Mavarro's power states?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert O'Hearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice try -- but no dice.

When you play Cure, you do reveal it -- but then you discard as part of the very same sequence of activity.

Cure wrote:
Reveal this card and choose a character at your location. Shuffle 1d4+1 random cards from his discard pile into his deck, then discard this card.
After playing this card, if you do not have the Divine skill, banish it; otherwise, you may succeed at a Divine 8 check to recharge this card instead of discarding it.


The only reason there is a "reveal" part is to keep you from healing the Cure itself back into your deck.

So no, the Cure you reveal to play it is not available to be used for Mavaro's power (and so your second question is moot).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fred Jandt
msg tools
mbmb
Well, was worth a shot.

Still liking this character a lot.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the discussion and insight.

The bottom line is that - as the PACG "rules guru" in my group - I'm going to discourage anyone from playing Mavaro because he's too much of a rules hassle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert O'Hearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wkover wrote:
Thanks for the discussion and insight.

The bottom line is that - as the PACG "rules guru" in my group - I'm going to discourage anyone from playing Mavaro because he's too much of a rules hassle.


Huh.
That's too bad -- Mavaro is an interesting & enjoyable character to play.

And with the right synergy, he can have absolutely killer turns.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elcoderdude wrote:
Actually.....

Mavaro attempts a combat check against a bane: the steps are

1. Determine what skill you are using -- Mavaro reveals a weapon which allows him to use (for example) his Strength or Melee skill + d8 + 1
2. Determine the difficulty -- say the bane says the difficulty to defeat is Combat 10
3. Play cards and use powers that affect your check -- Mavaro displays the same weapon he just revealed, which has a Strength check to acquire, to gain Strength equal to his Intelligence (say his Intelligence is d10 + 1)
4. Assemble your dice -- d10 + d8
5. Attempt the roll -- Mavaro rolls d10 + d8 and adds 2

This trick only works with a card you reveal to determine the skill to use -- it doesn't work with spells, because those are never reveal to use.


just thinking... but is it legal? i think you play a weapon card and display a weapon card in the same check, when you only can play a card of each type in a check.

i have a "master of spells" mavaro: he has 11 spells in his deck. i play him this way: at the start of the turn, he displays a spell with divine and arcane skills. so, when he explores, he can play a spell avoiding the prohibition about play 2 cards of same type.

am i playing him wrong?

edit: grammar and lot of misunderstandings.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert O'Hearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
calpurnio1973 wrote:
just thinking... but is it legal? i think you play a weapon card and display a weapon card in the same check, when you only can play a card of each type in a check.


My post is legal -- Mavaro is *not* playing two cards on the same check.

MM rulebook p.8 - emphasis added wrote:
Playing a card means using a power on that card by performing an action with that card that is specified by the card itself. Choosing to activate a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it.


When Mavaro reveals a weapon to define his combat check, he's playing the weapon card -- because the power he is using is specified on the weapon card. When Mavaro displays the same weapon card to gain Dexterity or Ranged equal to his Intelligence, he is *not* playing the weapon card -- because the power he is using is listed on his character card, not on the weapon card.

calpurnio1973 wrote:
i have a "master of spells" mavaro: he has 11 spells in his deck. i play him this way: at the start of the turn, he displays a spell with divine and arcane skills. so, when he explores, he can play a spell avoiding the prohibition about play 2 cards of same type.


That works, but you are making life a little harder than you have to.

You could wait until you need a combat spell, then play a spell to define your combat check, and THEN display a different spell to give you the Arcane or Divine skill equal to your Intelligence.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
calpurnio pison

rafelbunyol
valencia
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elcoderdude wrote:


MM rulebook p.8 - emphasis added wrote:
Playing a card means using a power on that card by performing an action with that card that is specified by the card itself. Choosing to activate a power on a displayed card also counts as playing it.


When Mavaro reveals a weapon to define his combat check, he's playing the weapon card -- because the power he is using is specified on the weapon card. When Mavaro displays the same weapon card to gain Dexterity or Ranged equal to his Intelligence, he is *not* playing the weapon card -- because the power he is using is listed on his character card, not on the weapon card.


thanks for clarify this for me. in fact, i think i had forgot that. now mavaro's life is more easy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.