Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Piperni
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I know, people have asked before but I want to see some fresh opinions anyways.

I've never painted before, I'm not an artist by any means but I really want to paint my copy Blood Rage. I'm interested in giving it a shot, since it's just way too expensive to pay someone to do it.. Plus, it could be a fun hobby to get into.

I'm looking to get some sort of starter kit maybe, paints, brushes, stuff that'll be good to use for Blood Rage (maybe move to 'The Others; 7 Sins' one day). I'm willing to spend $100-200. From what I've researched, the cheap stuff is exactly that, cheap in both price and quality and thinning the paints could be an art of it's own.. I'm not really interested in that. Citadel appears to be top of the line but their prices are absurd. Looks like maybe Vallejo is something in the middle? Good quality and reasonably priced. Or is Citadel really worth the extra cost?

So, please let me know what you'd suggest I spend my money on (including primers). Post pictures of your painted Blood Rage and let me know what paints and colours you used as well as brushes and sizes.

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't bought any Citadel paints in over a decade but unless they've got dramatically better the difference is in the quality of their marketing department, not the quality of their paint. Citadel washes might be worth it, but if the paints are notably more expensive where you are then don't feel like you should spend more compared to Vallejo, Reaper, P3 etc.