Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Smash Up» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deep question regarding Ignobles and taking control of minions in general rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Intangible One
msg tools
Gonna make it quick:

Say I take control of someone's minion with a card from the Ignobles deck. Doesn't matter which, but I have control of someone else's minion.

Now, someone plays a card that specifically says (it's an OLD card from an older deck):

"Destroy one of YOUR minions to ..."

Does that refer to minions he OWNS or minions he CONTROLS?

I thought it meant minions he controls. But it does say YOURRR minion, and even if I CONTROL HIS minion, he still TECHNICALLY OWNS the minion, so doesn't that make it HIS minion?

This is all being said with the rule that Control != Owning.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Czerniewski
United States
Overland Park
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Own = one of your two factions that game.

Control does not equal own.

Your opponent still owns any of his minions that you control.

This distinction is important to remember if/when you're playing with Ignobles because that's key to their abilities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Intangible One
msg tools
That still doesn't answer my question. I am well aware of the difference between own and control.

Let me re-iterate.

If you control someone's minions, and they play an action that says:

"Play on one of YOUR minions..."

Is that referring to minions they control or minions they own?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vespert Ilio
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
"Your minion" always refers to a minion you control, whether you're its owner or not.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When they mean minion that you own, it is written, else it is always minions that you control.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wim D
Belgium
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the Cease and Desist rulebook (bolding mine):

“You” on a minion or action means
the controller of the card; on a base it
means any player it describes, often
the current player. “Other players”
means everyone except “you”. “Your”
cards are those you control, whether
or not you own them.

“Here” means the base the card is
at; “there” means the location just
referred to on the card.
If you “look” at a card, show it to no
one else. If you “reveal” it, show it to
everyone else.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.