$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
Benjamin Schoenheiter
Germany
Friedberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
publisher
Editor
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
If you draw an Encounter card and draw an Enemy with the Prey Keyword, do you engage it (because you drew the card) or do you already have to apply the Prey Keyword, if there are other investigators at your location.

(Or does Prey only account when re-engaging after evasion or possible Hunting?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emily Dickinson
United States
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not engaged with you because you drew the card, it's in the same location with you because you drew the card, and it will immediately engage with someone.

"If there are multiple investigators at the same location as a ready unengaged enemy, follow the enemy’s prey instructions to determine which
investigator is engaged." (Rules Page 10)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Schoenheiter
Germany
Friedberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
publisher
Editor
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Esgaldil wrote:
It's not engaged with you because you drew the card, it's in the same location with you because you drew the card, and it will immediately engage with someone.

"If there are multiple investigators at the same location as a ready unengaged enemy, follow the enemy’s prey instructions to determine which
investigator is engaged." (Rules Page 10)


Actually the RRG on page 24 under point 4 (Mythos Phase; drawing an enemy) says:
"If the encountered enemy
has no spawn instruction, the enemy spawns engaged with
the investigator encountering the card and is placed in that
investigator’s threat area."
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phoenix Bird
Antarctica
msg tools
mbmbmb
Rules Reference Page 19 – Spawn
“If an enemy has no Spawn instruction, it spawns engaged with the investigator who drew it.”

Rules Reference Page 17 – Prey
“Prey has no immediate effect on where an enemy will spawn.”

So Benjamin, does it have a spawn instruction? If not it will spawn engaged with you because you drew it.

Phoenix
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Schoenheiter
Germany
Friedberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
publisher
Editor
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules Reference Page 17 – Prey
“Prey has no immediate effect on where an enemy will spawn.”

WHERE is a definition of locality. Not WHOM it will engage.


Well Prey also says:
"If an enemy that is about to automatically engage an
investigator at its location has multiple options of whom to
engage, that enemy engages the investigator who best meets
its “prey” instructions (if multiple investigators are tied in
meeting these instructions, the lead investigator may decide
among them) (see “Enemy Engagement” on page 10)."

That`s where my question comes from. I would clearly say it engages with me, but this makes it very clear that it would always seek its best target first.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Keddie
Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
benji_online wrote:
Rules Reference Page 17 – Prey
“Prey has no immediate effect on where an enemy will spawn.”

WHERE is a definition of locality. Not WHOM it will engage.


Well Prey also says:
"If an enemy that is about to automatically engage an
investigator at its location has multiple options of whom to
engage, that enemy engages the investigator who best meets
its “prey” instructions (if multiple investigators are tied in
meeting these instructions, the lead investigator may decide
among them) (see “Enemy Engagement” on page 10)."

That`s where my question comes from. I would clearly say it engages with me, but this makes it very clear that it would always seek its best target first.


It spawns engaged. There is no moment of "about to engage", it comes into play already engaged with the Investigator that drew it.

Now, if you have an exhausted enemy with Prey and multiple investigators, then when it Readies, there is a moment when it's "about to engage" and the Prey rule kicks in.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Schoenheiter
Germany
Friedberg
Hessen
flag msg tools
publisher
Editor
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
CommissarFeesh wrote:
benji_online wrote:
Rules Reference Page 17 – Prey
“Prey has no immediate effect on where an enemy will spawn.”

WHERE is a definition of locality. Not WHOM it will engage.


Well Prey also says:
"If an enemy that is about to automatically engage an
investigator at its location has multiple options of whom to
engage, that enemy engages the investigator who best meets
its “prey” instructions (if multiple investigators are tied in
meeting these instructions, the lead investigator may decide
among them) (see “Enemy Engagement” on page 10)."

That`s where my question comes from. I would clearly say it engages with me, but this makes it very clear that it would always seek its best target first.


It spawns engaged. There is no moment of "about to engage", it comes into play already engaged with the Investigator that drew it.

Now, if you have an exhausted enemy with Prey and multiple investigators, then when it Readies, there is a moment when it's "about to engage" and the Prey rule kicks in.


Interesting. So it is as I thought: Prey only triggers when re-engaging after evasion or during hunting.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.